Georgia Smokefree Air of 2005 Complaint Protocol

The following is the recommended process for enforcement of the Georgia Smokefree Air Act of 2005. The Georgia Smokefree Air Act of 2005 Workgroup, made up of state staff, district staff, and community partners, developed these recommendations. The workgroup was convened to develop a process to ensure compliance with the law. Differences in county and health district resources and infrastructure may require modifications of this process. The following steps are recommended for enforcement of the Georgia Smokefree Air Act of 2005.

STEP ONE: Receiving Complaints
Each County Board of Health (CBOH) will select a designee to receive complaints and forward complaints to the proper authority.

Complaints against a food service business /restaurant should be forwarded to the local Office of Environmental Health (local health inspector). All other complaints should be forwarded to the appropriate duly authorized agent(s), which may include the local Fire Marshall, county and city police, and county building code authorities.   All local health inspectors and duly authorized agents will require detailed education on the law.

STEP TWO: Recording Complaints

Complaints can be submitted three ways:

1) By calling the toll free number: 1-877-343-3340 8:00 A.M. and 5:00 P.M. Monday through Friday (excluding State holidays)

2) Via email: chronic.disease@dph.ga.gov 

3) Directly to the Board of Health/Health District/County Department of Health

District Process

Each County Board of Health must establish procedures for receiving local complaints.

State Process

Staff of the Chronic Disease Section of the Georgia Department of Public Health will monitor the toll free number, the metro Atlanta number, and the email system for complaints. Health Promotion Disease Prevention staff will complete an electronic Georgia Smokefree Air Complaint/Site Visit form while talking with the person submitting the complaint.  

The complaint form must be completed in its entirety. Anonymous complaints will not be accepted or investigated.  The information on the complaint form must be collected in order for a business to receive a notice of injunctive relief and for the complaint to be forwarded to the local magistrate for legal action. Any information omitted from the complaint form will impact the ability to sanction a business that violates the Georgia Smokefree Air Act.

After completing the complaint form, the chronic disease staff person will forward the complaint electronically or by fax to the appropriate CBOH designee within 10 business days of receiving the complaint.

The local CBOH must determine the appropriate routing system for each complaint and designate a duly authorized agent(s) to respond to complaints. Complaints against a food service business/restaurant will be routed to the Environmental Health Section of the local health district. All other complaints will be routed to the appropriate duly authorized agent.

The CBOH designee receiving the complaint  will send an Acknowledgement of Complaint Letter to the complainant advising that the complaint has been received and the establishment will be contacted by letter or visit.

STEP THREE: Responding to Complaints
First Complaint:

· The local health inspector or duly authorized agent will forward a Notice of Complaint Letter to the establishment/business within 15 days of receiving the complaint

· The local health inspector or duly authorized agent will document the action taken on the Georgia Smokefree Air Complaint/Site Visit
· The local health inspector or duly authorized agent may elect to conduct an unscheduled site visit

If a site visit is conducted the local health inspector or duly authorized agent will:

· Inform building owner, agent, operator, person in charge, or proprietor of the complaint

· Educate building owner, agent, operator, person in charge, or proprietor on the Georgia Smokefree Air Act of 2005

· Provide building owner, agent, operator, person in charge, or proprietor with a copy of the Georgia Smokefree Air Act of 2005 Business Guide

· Provide building owner, agent, operator, person in charge, or proprietor with copies of the appropriate signage or direct them to the http://dph.georgia.gov/ready-quit
· Instruct building owner, agent, operator, person in charge, or proprietor on proper use and posting of signage

· Provide building owner, agent, operator, person in charge, or proprietor with a copy of the Rules of the Georgia Smokefree Air Act of 2005

· Provide building owner, agent, operator, person in charge, or proprietor with literature on the dangers of exposure to secondhand smoke from: 

· CDC (www.cdc.gov/tobacco/factsheets/secondhand_smoke_factsheet.htm
· American Lung Association (lungusa.org and type in the advance search: secondhand smoke fact sheet)

· American Cancer Society (www.cancer.org and type in the advance search: secondhand smoke fact sheet)

· American Heart Association (www.americanheart.org and type in Freedom to Breathe Fact Sheet)

· Provide Quit Line brochures to promote cessation (brochures are available from district Health Promotion Coordinators or may be downloaded from http://dph.georgia.gov/ready-quit)
If a violation is substantiated the local health inspector or duly authorized agent will:

· Document the violation, this may include taking photos

· Instruct building owner, agent, operator, person in charge, or proprietor on how to be compliant with the law in order to correct the current violation and prevent future violations

· Forward to the establishment/business owner the Notice of Complaint and Investigative Findings
· Notify establishment/business that they have 15 days to correct the violation

· Conduct a follow-up unscheduled site visit 30 days after the Notice of Complaint and Investigative Findings is forwarded to the establishment/business owner, to determine compliance with the recommended corrective action

If upon conducting the follow-up site visit the violation has not been corrected the local health inspector or duly authorized agent may:

· Issue Final Violation Notice to business/establishment

· Submit written request along with copies of the previously mentioned documents to local counsel to pursue injunctive relief

· Copies of all documents will be forwarded to the local Board of Health, the Health District Office, and the Georgia Department of Public Health Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion Branch

Second Complaint (Same Violation)

· The local health inspector or duly authorized agent will forward Notice of Complaint Letter to the establishment/business within 10 days of receiving the complaint
· The local health inspector or duly authorized agent will conduct an unscheduled site visit within 15 days of receiving the complaint 
· The local health inspector or duly authorized agent will document the action taken on the Georgia Smokefree Air Complaint/Site Visit
If a previous site visit has not been conducted the local health inspector or duly authorized agent will:

· Inform building owner, agent, operator, person in charge, or proprietor of the complaint

· Educate building owner, agent, operator, person in charge, or proprietor on the Georgia Smokefree Air Act of 2005

· Provide building owner, agent, operator, person in charge, or proprietor with a copy of the Georgia Smokefree Air Act of 2005 Business Guide

· Provide building owner, agent, operator, person in charge, or proprietor with copies of the appropriate signage or direct them to: http://dph.georgia.gov/ready-quit
· Instruct building owner, agent, operator, person in charge, or proprietor on proper use and posting of signage

· Provide building owner, agent, operator, person in charge, or proprietor with a copy of the Rules of the Georgia Smokefree Air Act of 2005

· Provide building owner, agent, operator, person in charge, or proprietor with literature on the dangers of exposure to secondhand smoke from: 

· CDC (www.cdc.gov/tobacco/factsheets/secondhand_smoke_factsheet.htm
· American Lung Association (lungusa.org and type in the advance search: secondhand smoke fact sheet)

· American Cancer Society (www.cancer.org and type in the advance search: secondhand smoke fact sheet)

· American Heart Association (www.americanheart.org and type in Freedom to Breathe Fact Sheet)

· Provide Quit Line brochures to promote cessation (brochures are available from district Health Promotion Coordinators or may be downloaded from http://dph.georgia.gov/ready-quit)

If a violation is substantiated the local health inspector or duly authorized agent will:

· Document the violation, this may include taking photos

· Instruct building owner, agent, operator, person in charge, or proprietor on how to be compliant with the law in order to correct the current violation and prevent future violations

· Forward to the establishment/business owner the Notice of Complaint and Investigative Findings
· Notify establishment/business that they have 15 days to correct the violation

· Conduct a follow-up unscheduled site visit 30 days after the Notice of Complaint and Investigative Findings is forwarded to the establishment/business owner, to determine compliance with the recommended corrective action.

If upon conducting the follow-up site visit the violation has not been corrected the local health inspector or duly authorized agent may:

· Issue Final Violation Notice to business/establishment

· Submit written request along with copies of the previously mentioned documents to local counsel to pursue injunctive relief

· Copies of all documents will be forwarded to the local Board of Health, the Health District Office, and the Georgia Department of Human Resources, Division of Public Health, Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion Branch

If a previous site visit has been conducted and a second complaint is received and a violation is substantiated by a second site visit, the local health inspector or duly authorized agent may:

· Issue Final Violation Notice to business/establishment

· Submit written request along with copies of the previously mentioned documents to local counsel to pursue injunctive relief

· Copies of all documents will be forwarded to the local Board of Health and the Georgia Department of Human Resources, Division of Public Health, Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion Branch
Subsequent Complaints (Different Violation):

· Follow Procedure for First Complaint

INJUNCTIVE RELIEF

STEP FOUR:

Counsel is instructed to file Petition no later than (time frame to be determined by local CBOH) days following receipt of the file.  All evidence should be included in the file, including, but not limited to complaint form, photographs, all notice letters, correspondence and, witnesses’ contact information.

STEP FIVE:

A hearing on the Petition for Injunctive relief will be held.  Upon the conclusion of the hearing, the Court order is placed in the Local Board’s file with a copy forwarded to the local Board of Health and the Georgia Department of Public Health, Chronic Disease Prevention Section.
STEP SIX:

If the Court grants the injunction and the business fails to abide by the terms of the order, forward the file to local counsel to proceed with a contempt action.

KEY FOCUS AREAS FOR DULY AUTHORIZED AGENTS TO CONSIDER WHEN ENFORCING THE LAW:

Hours of Operation/Designating Smoking Status
All non-exempt public places must declare their smoking status by posting the appropriate signage.  All businesses and public places must post signage designating the business as: 1) No smoking, 2) Smoking Is Allowed, 3) Smoking Is Allowed, No One Under the Age of 18 Permitted. All businesses and public places applying for a business license with the State must designate the smoking status of the business on the application and inform the public upon opening with the appropriate signage.  If a public place is a non-smoking facility, it must remain non-smoking 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Signage
All public places must obtain appropriate signage for the smoking designation of the facility. The following specifications must be met to comply with the requirements related to “No Smoking” signs:

1) Visibility. “No Smoking” signs or signs bearing the international ‘No Smoking’ symbol shall be easily readable, be conspicuously posted, and shall not be obscured in any way.

2) Format. The words ‘No Smoking’, ‘Smoking Permitted’,  ‘Smoking Permitted, No One Under the Age of 18 Allowed’, and ‘No Smoking Beyond this Point’ shall not be less than 1.5 inches in height. These signs shall bear the applicable annotated code section, ‘O.C.G.A.§ 31-12A-1 et seq.’.

3) Smokefree Public Place. In a public place where smoking is prohibited, the building owner, agent, operator, person in charge or proprietor shall conspicuously post a sign bearing the words ‘No Smoking’ or conspicuously post the international ‘No Smoking’ symbol on all entrances or in a position clearly visible on entry into the place.

4) Smoking Area in a Public Place. In a public place where smoking is allowed in an enclosed area, the building owner, agent, operator, person in charge, or proprietor shall conspicuously post a sign bearing the words ‘Smoking Permitted, No One Under the Age of 18 Allowed’ on all entrances or in a position clearly visible on entry into the place. Such a sign must be posted if the exit of an area that allows smoking serves as an entrance to a smoke free area. The smoke free area must bear a sign with the international ‘No Smoking’ symbol.

5) Exempt status. The building owner, agent, operator, person in charge, or proprietor of a public place that is exempt from the Act shall conspicuously post a sign using the words ‘Smoking Permitted, No One Under the Age of 18 Allowed’ on all entrances or in a position clearly visible on entry into the place. A private residence is not required to comply with this provision unless such residence is used as a licensed childcare, adult day care, or health care facility.

Ventilation Systems and Separate Ventilated Rooms
The building owner, agent, operator, person in charge, or proprietor of a public place that desires to allow smoking must have a separate ventilation system for the designated enclosed area. Certification that the ventilation or air handling system serving the enclosed area meets the requirements as set for in the Act (see Rules of DHR Smokefree Air Act of 2005) must be obtained from a contractor licensed by the State of Georgia or from an appropriately certified professional. All public places allowing smoking in designated rooms without separate ventilation systems are in violation of this Act and subject to injunctive relief. 

Reasonable Distance/Outdoor Smoking Areas
Smoking is prohibited at entrances, doorways, exits, windows, vents, or intake systems of a building where smoking is prohibited. Violations under this section are subject to injunctive relief. Smoking is allowed in outdoor smoking areas, but outdoor areas designated for smoking must be a reasonable distance from entrances, doorways, exits, windows, vents or intake systems.

(1) Reasonable Distance. The building owner, agent, operator, person in charge, or

proprietor of a public place may designate an outdoor smoking area that is located a

reasonable distance from any entrance, exit, window, vent, or air intake system of a

building where smoking is prohibited.

(a) If the location of an entrance, exit, window, vent, or air intake system of a

building where smoking is prohibited or if the location of a barrier, such as a wall,

property line, parking lot, or street makes the reasonable distance requirement

impossible to meet, then the building owner, agent, operator, person in charge or

proprietor of a public place shall maximize the distance between the outdoor

smoking area and the entrance, exit, window, or air intake system of a building

where smoking is prohibited.

(2) Ashtrays. Any ashtrays located in an outdoor smoking area shall be placed a

reasonable distance from any entrance, exit, window, vent, or air intake system.
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