Georgia

SAFETY

Birth-12months [ Georgia Law

Always keep your child in a rear-facing car seat, . P ReqU|res
in the back seat. -

NEVER place a rear-facing car seat in front of an
active airbag.

*Age 1 - 3 years
Keep child rear-facing until he or she reaches
the top height or weight limit allowed by your
car seat’s instructions. Then your child is ready
for a forward-facing car seat in the back seat.

*American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) recommends a rear-facing
car seat until 2 years of age or until they reach the highest rear-facing
height or weight allowed by the car seat manufacturer.

Car Seat
Recommendations

Choose a car seat based on
your child’s size (height &
weight).

Read your car seat’s
instructions for use and
Age 4-7 years installation information.
Keep child in a forward-facing car seat until he
or she reaches the top height or weight limit
allowed by your car seat’s instructions. Then  J
your child is ready for a belt-positioning booster .

seat in the back seat.

Read the vehicle owner’s
manual on how to install the
car seat using the seat belt or
LATCH system.

Keep your child in the car seat
as long as the child fits within
the height or weight limits.
Age 8 - 12 years
Keep child in a belt-positioning booster seat
until he or she is at least 4'9"tall for a seat belt
to fit properly. For a proper fit the lap belt
must lie snug across the upper thighs and

the shoulder belt should lie snug across the
shoulder & chest.

Keep your child in the back
seat until age 13.

(Booster)

(Lap/shoulder
seat belt)

Contact your local Health Department for more car seat information or the
Office of Injury Prevention at 404-679-0500 or injury@dhr.state.ga.us
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