Nominations Open for Nursing Excellence Awards

March 21, 2014

Do you know an excellent public health nurse? Would you like to honor someone dedicated to providing the highest quality health care for Georgians? Nominate these special health care providers for a Nursing Excellence Award.

The Georgia Department of Public Health (DPH) is now accepting nominations for the 2014 Nursing Excellence Awards. In honor of National Nurses Week, which begins this year on May 6, DPH takes the opportunity to recognize nurses at the state, district and county levels for their contributions and commitment to public health nursing.

Nominations are open for two awards: the State Office Nursing Consultation Excellence Award and the Public Health Nursing Practice Excellence Award.

The nominees and recipients of both awards will be announced at a celebration of National Nurses Week on May 8. Nominations are due April 14. For more information and to receive a nomination form, contact Shannon Hall at

You might like...

December 2, 2015

A team of public health nurses convened at the State Capitol last month to raise their voices at a hearing hosted by Georgia’s Human Development and Public Health Sub-Committee led by Senator Renee Unterman.

The hearing examined the challenges the state’s public health nursing workforce faces, such as salary parity with the private sector, recruitment, retention and attrition.

October 27, 2014

The University of Phoenix recently announced the selection of Michael “Mac” Coker as the 2014 University of Phoenix Atlanta Campus Faculty of the Year award recipient.  Coker, a Georgia Department of Public Health (DPH) HIV nurse consultant of eight years, received his award at the 2014 University of Phoenix commencement ceremony earlier this month.

July 7, 2014

The March of Dimes is now accepting nominations for the Georgia March of Dimes 2014 Nurse of the Year Awards. Nurses who have demonstrated excellence and leadership may be nominated in 16 diverse categories of nursing. Last year, more than 700 nurses were nominated from across the state of Georgia.