Divorce verifications provide the name of each party, the date, and location where the divorce was granted. It is evidence that the parties are no longer married. The divorce verification can be used for a number of legal purposes including to obtain a marriage license, a social security card, and a driver’s license reflecting your new legal name. The State Office of Vital Records can search and confirm only divorces that have taken place in the state of Georgia from June 1952 to August 1996. Verifications prior to 1952 and after 1996 are only available from the Clerk of Superior Court in the county where the divorce was granted.
Who may request a Divorce Verification?
Divorce Verifications are available to the public.
What information is required when requesting a Divorce Verification?
The person requesting a divorce verification must provide:
1. A completed and signed request form which can be downloaded by clicking here.
2. A photocopy of your valid photo ID such as one of the following:
- Georgia Driver’s license unexpired or expired for not more than one year
- State of Georgia Identification Card unexpired or expired for not more than one year
- Unexpired driver’s license issued by another U.S. State, jurisdiction or territory
- Unexpired official Identification Card issued by another U.S. State, jurisdiction or territory
- Unexpired U.S. Passport
- Unexpired Foreign Passport
- U.S. Military Identification, Military Dependent Identification, Veteran’s Identification
- Unexpired Consulate Card
- Transportation ID
- Voter’s Registration Card
- Debit Card
- Employer ID Card
- School, University, or College Identification Card
- DMV ID Card
- Department of Corrections Identification Card
Where can I request a certified copy of a Divorce Record?
Mail a completed copy of the appropriate request form to:
State Office of Vital Records
2600 Skyland Drive, NE
Atlanta, GA 30319
Response Time: 8-10 Weeks
Please download and complete the following form:
Request for Search of Divorce Verification (Form 3917)
(A separate completed request form is needed for each record requested.)
Note: The State Office of Vital Records can search and confirm only divorces that have taken place in the State of Georgia from June 1952 to August 1996. Verifications prior to 1952 and after 1996 are only available from the Clerk of Superior Court in the county where the divorce was granted.
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM, Monday-Friday, Except State Holidays
State Office of Vital Records or any County Vital Records Office.
2600 Skyland Dr, NE
Atlanta, GA 30319
Response Time: Same Day Service
Click here for a list of State Holidays.
Click here for a list of county offices.
Note: It is not possible to request a divorce verifications from the State Office by email or telephone. By law, all vital record search requests must be signed and submitted.
What is the cost of a Divorce Verification?
Georgia law requires pre-payment before a record or a service can be provided. Fees are not refundable after a service has been provided. Records are sent first class mail.
- Search fee (includes one certified copy) $10.00
- Additional certifications of same record ordered at the same time (full size only) $5.00
- Multi-year search (every three years or portion thereof) $10.00
What forms of payment are accepted?
Fees may be paid by one of the following methods:
- Certified Check
- Money Order
- Master Card or Visa (walk-in only)
- Cash or Debit Card (walk-in only)
Note: Do NOT send cash in the mail. Make certified checks and money orders payable to State Office of Vital Records.
Page last updated 11/29/2016