
 

 

 
GEORGIA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH 

ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER FOR  
VACCINE USAGE AND ACCOUNTABILITY 

 
WHEREAS, on March 14, 2020, Governor Brian P. Kemp issued Executive Order 03.14.20.01, 
declaring a Public Health State of Emergency in Georgia due to the impact of Novel Coronavirus 
Disease 2019 (COVID-19); and 

 
WHEREAS, on March 16, 2020, the Georgia General Assembly concurred with Executive 
Order 03.14.20.01 by joint resolution; and 

 
WHEREAS, the Public Health State of Emergency has been extended as provided by law; and 

 
WHEREAS, COVID-19 presents a severe threat to public health in Georgia;  
 
WHEREAS, Providers who enroll in the COVID-19 Vaccination Program (Program) perform 
vital functions including properly storing, handling, and managing vaccine supply as well as 
administering vaccine to intended recipients;  
 
WHEREAS, the Department of Public Health Georgia Immunization Program (DPH/GIP) has 
implemented a COVID-19 Vaccine Program Provider Accountability and Waste Avoidance 
Policy (Policy) to confirm Providers are complying with their obligations under the Program, the 
CDC COVID-19 Vaccination Program Provider Agreement, DPH’s Vaccine Plan  
(https://dph.georgia.gov/document/document/georgia-covid-19-vaccine-plan/download), the 
DPH state office managed phased approach to vaccine rollout, to which all Providers must 
adhere1 and applicable federal and state laws and guidelines for vaccine usage; and  
 
WHEREAS, DPH requires Providers enrolled in the Program to take action to correct 
identified/detected abuse and/or waste, as set forth in the Policy, if the abuse and/or waste is 
confirmed as a result of the investigation DPH/GIP staff conducts.   

 
NOW, THEREFORE, in accordance with O.C.G.A. §§ 31-2A-4, 31-1-10, and 31-12-2.1(a) as 
well as Governor Kemp’s Executive Orders,  

 
IT IS HEREBY ORDERED as follows: 

1. As a condition of continued enrollment as a COVID-19 Vaccine Program Provider, 
each Provider is required to read and agree to the terms of the “COVID-19 Vaccine 
Program Provider Accountability and Waste Avoidance Policy.” Each Provider’s  

 
1 Inquiries related to the phases should be directed to the DPH state office at DPH-
COVID19Vaccine@dph.ga.gov. 

https://dph.georgia.gov/document/document/georgia-covid-19-vaccine-plan/download
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acceptance of the terms of said Policy will be evidenced by the Provider’s authorized 
representative signing of the “Acceptance of COVID-19 Vaccine Program Provider 
Accountability and Waste Avoidance Policy,” a copy of which is attached hereto, and 
electronically signed via DocuSign. 
 

2. By reading and electronically signing via DocuSign, Program Providers acknowledge 
that compliance with Program requirements, as set forth in the Policy, is mandatory 
and that DPH may impose penalties and/or require corrective action for identified 
non-compliance, including but not limited to the following:   
• For Providers who vaccinate outside of Georgia’s current phase as reflected on DPH’s 

website, except as set forth in the Accountability and Waste Avoidance Policy to avoid 
wasting vaccine:   

o First Offense – 45 day suspension from the Program and DPH will collect the 
Providers existing vaccine inventory within 72 hours for redistribution to enrolled 
Providers within the county. Sufficient inventory will be left with the suspended 
Provider for 2nd dose vaccine recipient needs.  

Note:  The phased approach to vaccine rollout is managed by the State office of the 
Georgia Department of Public Health.  All Providers in the state of Georgia must 
adhere to the plan as set by DPH. Inquires related to the phases shall be directed to 
the State DPH office DPH-COVID19Vaccine@dph.ga.gov. 

o Second Offense -- Immediate Termination from the Program.  
• For Providers who fail to report vaccine administration data into GRITS within 24 hours of 

administration: 
o First Offense – Written warning from DPH; however, if reporting is not corrected 

within 7 calendar days, a two-week moratorium on additional vaccine shipments 
shall be imposed and a corrective action plan developed and implemented to 
prevent future violations. 

o Second Offense – Two-week moratorium on additional vaccine shipments, as well 
as correction of reporting along with development and implementation of a 
corrective action plan to prevent future violations.  

o Subsequent Offenses – to be determined by the Commissioner of the Georgia 
Department of Public Health. 

• For Providers who knowingly vaccinate recipients who do not live or work in Georgia: 
o First Offense – Written warning from DPH.  
o Second Offense – Two-week moratorium on additional vaccine shipments, as well 

as development and implementation of a corrective action plan to prevent future 
violations.  

o Subsequent Offenses – to be determined by the Commissioner of the Georgia 
Department of Public Health. 

• For Providers who refuse to administer vaccine to recipients who live outside the county: 
o First Offense -- Written warning from DPH.  
o Second Offense -- Two-week moratorium on additional vaccine shipments, as well 

as development and implementation of a corrective action plan to prevent future 
violations.  

o Subsequent Offenses – to be determined by the Commissioner of Public Health. 
• For Providers who fail to use all reasonable efforts to administer a second dose to vaccine 

recipients who received a first dose from the Provider:  
o First Offense -- Written warning from DPH.  
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o Second Offense – Referral to the Provider’s professional licensing Board. 
The Commissioner of the Georgia Department of Public Health shall have the authority to 
implement any of the foregoing, or any other penalty and/or corrective action for Program abuse 
and/or waste, up to and including termination from the Program, with the decision regarding the 
penalty to be assessed and/or corrective action to be imposed based on the egregiousness of 
the abuse and/or waste.   

This Administrative Order is effective as of the date reflected hereon and shall remain in effect 
for ninety (90) days, with the option to renew, following the end of the Public Health State of 
Emergency declared in Executive Order 03.14.20.01 and as extended thereafter. 

 

SO ORDERED, this 17th day of February, 2021.  

 

 

Kathleen E. Toomey, M.D. M.P.H. 
Commissioner, Department of Public Health  
State Health Officer  

 
 
 
Accountability Waste Policy 
 
COVID-19 Vaccine Fraud Policy 

https://dph.georgia.gov/document/document/accountability-waste-policy/download
https://dph.georgia.gov/document/document/covid19-vaccine-fraud-policy/download

