Georgia Smokefree Air Complaint Protocol

The following is the recommended process for enforcement of the Georgia Smokefree Air Act. The Georgia Smokefree Air Act Workgroup, made up of state staff, district staff, and community partners, developed these recommendations. The workgroup was convened to develop a process to ensure compliance with the law. Differences in county and health district resources and infrastructure may require modifications of this process. The following steps are recommended for enforcement of the Georgia Smokefree Air Act.

STEP ONE: Receiving Complaints

Each County Board of Health (CBOH) must establish procedures for receiving local complaints. The County Board of Health will select a designee to receive complaints and forward complaints to the proper authority.

The CBOH must determine the appropriate routing system for each complaint and designate a Duly Authorized Agent(s) to respond to complaints. Complaints against a food service business/restaurant should be forwarded to the local Office of Environmental Health (local health inspector). All other complaints should be forwarded to the appropriate Duly Authorized Agent(s), which may include the local Fire Marshall, county and city police, and county building code authorities. All local health inspectors and Duly Authorized Agent(s) will require detailed education on the law.

STEP TWO: Recording Complaints

Complaints can be submitted in three ways:

- 1) By calling the toll-free number: 1-877-343-3340 8:00 A.M. and 5:00 P.M. Monday through Friday (excluding State holidays)
- 2) Via Georgia Smokefree Air Act Complaint/Site Visit online form located on the GA Department of Public Health website https://dph.georgia.gov/chronic-disease-prevention/tobacco/georgia-smokefree-air-act-complaint-form
- 3) Directly to the Board of Health/Health District/County Department of Health

State Process

Staff of the Tobacco Use Prevention Program of the Georgia Department of Public Health will monitor the online complaint form via the email system at chronic.disease@dph.ga.gov. After receiving the complaint form, the Tobacco Use Prevention Program staff person will forward the complaint electronically to the appropriate CBOH designee within 1-3 business days of receiving the complaint.

Board of Health/Health District/County Department of Health Process

The Duly Authorized Agent(s) will receive the complaint form from the CBOH designee. The designee should respond to the complaint within 2-4 business days of receipt. Complaints that are received directly by the Board of Health/Health District/County Department of Health, the Duly Authorized Agent(s) or the CBOH designee will complete the online *Georgia Smokefree Air Complaint/Site Visit* form while speaking with the person submitting the complaint. The form is located at: https://dph.georgia.gov/chronic-disease-prevention/tobacco/georgia-smokefree-air-act-complaint-form .

The complaint form must be completed in its entirety. Anonymous complaints will not be accepted or investigated. The information on the complaint form must be collected in its entirety for a business to receive a notice of injunctive relief and for the complaint to be forwarded to the local magistrate for legal action. Any information omitted from the complaint form will impact the ability to sanction a business that violates the Georgia Smokefree Air Act.

STEP THREE: Responding to the Complainant

The CBOH designee receiving the complaint will send an **Acknowledgement of Complaint Letter** to the complainant advising that the complaint has been received and the establishment will be contacted by letter or visit.

STEP FOUR: Responding to Complaints

First Complaint:

- The local health inspector or Duly Authorized Agent(s) will forward a Notice of Complaint Letter to the establishment/business within 10 business days of receiving the complaint.
- The local health inspector or Duly Authorized Agent(s) will document the action taken on the Georgia Smokefree Air Complaint/Site Visit.
- The local health inspector or Duly Authorized Agent(s) may elect to conduct an unscheduled site visit...

If a site visit is conducted the local health inspector or Duly Authorized Agent(s) will:

- Inform building owner, agent, operator, person in charge, or proprietor of the complaint.
- Educate building owner, agent, operator, person in charge, or proprietor on the Georgia Smokefree Air Act.
- Provide building owner, agent, operator, person in charge, or proprietor with a copy of the Georgia Smokefree Air Act Business Guide https://dph.georgia.gov/chronic-disease-prevention/tobacco/smoke-free-enforcement.

- Provide building owner, agent, operator, person in charge, or proprietor with copies of the appropriate signage or direct them to the https://dph.georgia.gov/chronic-disease-prevention/tobacco/tobacco-free-places.
- Instruct building owner, agent, operator, person in charge, or proprietor on proper use and posting of signage.
- Provide building owner, agent, operator, person in charge, or proprietor with a copy of the Rules of the Georgia Smokefree Air Act https://dph.georgia.gov/chronic-disease-prevention/tobacco/smoke-free-enforcement.
- Provide building owner, agent, operator, person in charge, or proprietor with literature on the dangers of exposure to secondhand smoke from:
 - CDC (https://www.cdc.gov/tobacco/basic_information/secondhand_smoke/index.htm)
 - American Lung Association (https://www.lung.org/)
 - American Cancer Society (https://www.cancer.org/)
 - American Heart Association (https://www.heart.org/)
- Provide Quit Line brochures to promote cessation (brochures are available from the district health department or may be downloaded from https://dph.georgia.gov/readytoquit)

Apartment smoking and vaping complaints:

- If a Public Housing Authority (PHA) apartment, provide building owner, agent, operator, person in charge, or proprietor with literature on Implementing the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), Smoke-Free Policy in Public Housing Guidebook
 - https://www.hud.gov/sites/documents/SMOKEFREE GUIDEBK.PDF
- Provide building owner, agent, operator, person in charge, or proprietor with literature on the dangers of exposure to secondhand smoke from:
 - CDC
 (https://www.cdc.gov/tobacco/basic_information/secondhand_smoke/inde_x.htm)
 - American Lung Association (https://www.lung.org/)
 - American Cancer Society (https://www.cancer.org/)
 - American Heart Association (https://www.heart.org/)
- Provide Quit Line brochures to promote cessation (brochures are available from the district health department or may be downloaded from https://dph.georgia.gov/readytoquit).

If a violation is <u>not</u> substantiated the local health inspector or Duly Authorized Agent(s) will:

 Forward to the establishment/business owner the Notice of Complaint and Investigative Finding Letter

If a violation is substantiated the local health inspector or Duly Authorized Agent(s) will:

Document the violation, this may include taking photos

- Instruct building owner, agent, operator, person in charge, or proprietor on how to be compliant with the law to correct the current violation and prevent future violations.
- Forward to the establishment/business owner the First Violation Letter.
- Notify establishment/business that they have 15 days to correct the violation.
- Conduct a follow-up unscheduled site visit 30 days after the *First Violation* Letter is forwarded to the establishment/business owner, to determine
 compliance with the recommended corrective action.

If upon conducting the follow-up site visit the violation has not been corrected the local health inspector or Duly Authorized Agent(s) may:

- Issue Final Violation Notice to business/establishment within 10 days after conducting the follow-up unscheduled site visit.
- Submit written request along with copies of the previously mentioned documents to local counsel to pursue injunctive relief.
- Copies of all documents will be forwarded to the local Board of Health, the Health District Office, and the Georgia Department of Public Health Tobacco Use Prevention Program.

Second Complaint (Same Violation)

- The local health inspector or Duly Authorized Agent(s) will forward Notice of Complaint Letter to the establishment/business within 10 days of receiving the complaint.
- The local health inspector or Duly Authorized Agent(s) will conduct an unscheduled site visit within 15 days of receiving the complaint.
- The local health inspector or Duly Authorized Agent(s) will document the action taken on the Georgia Smokefree Air Complaint/Site Visit.

If a previous site visit has <u>not</u> been conducted the local health inspector or Duly Authorized Agent(s) will:

- Inform building owner, agent, operator, person in charge, or proprietor of the complaint.
- Educate building owner, agent, operator, person in charge, or proprietor on the Georgia Smokefree Air Act.
- Provide building owner, agent, operator, person in charge, or proprietor with a copy of the Georgia Smokefree Air Act Business Guide https://dph.georgia.gov/chronic-disease-prevention/tobacco/smoke-free-enforcement.
- Provide building owner, agent, operator, person in charge, or proprietor with copies of the appropriate signage or direct them to: https://dph.georgia.gov/chronic-disease-prevention/tobacco/tobacco-free-places.
- Instruct building owner, agent, operator, person in charge, or proprietor on proper use and posting of signage.
- Provide building owner, agent, operator, person in charge, or proprietor with a copy of the Rules of the Georgia Smokefree Air Act

https://dph.georgia.gov/chronic-disease-prevention/tobacco/smoke-free-enforcement.

- Provide building owner, agent, operator, person in charge, or proprietor with literature on the dangers of exposure to secondhand smoke from:
 - CDC (https://www.cdc.gov/tobacco/basic_information/secondhand_smoke/index.htm)
 - American Lung Association (https://www.lung.org/)
 - American Cancer Society (https://www.cancer.org/)
 - American Heart Association (https://www.heart.org/)
- Provide Quit Line brochures to promote cessation (brochures are available from the district health departments or may be downloaded https://dph.georgia.gov/readytoquit).

If a violation is substantiated the local health inspector or Duly Authorized Agent(s) will:

- Document the violation, this may include taking photos.
- Instruct building owner, agent, operator, person in charge, or proprietor on how to be compliant with the law to correct the current violation and prevent future violations.
- Forward to the establishment/business owner the Second Violation Letter.
- Notify establishment/business that they have 15 days to correct the violation.
- Conduct a follow-up unscheduled site visit 30 days after the **Second Violation** Letter is forwarded to the establishment/business owner, to determine compliance with the recommended corrective action.

If upon conducting the follow-up site visit the violation has not been corrected the local health inspector or Duly Authorized Agent(s) may:

- Issue Final Violation Notice to business/establishment within 10 days after conducting the follow-up unscheduled site visit.
- Submit written request along with copies of the previously mentioned documents to local counsel to pursue injunctive relief.
- Copies of all documents will be forwarded to the local Board of Health, the Health District Office, the Georgia Department of Human Resources, and the Georgia Tobacco Use Prevention Program.

If a previous site visit has been conducted and a second complaint is received and a violation is substantiated by a second site visit, the local health inspector, or Duly Authorized Agent(s) may:

- Issue Final Violation Notice to business/establishment.
- Submit written request along with copies of the previously mentioned documents to local counsel to pursue injunctive relief.
 Copies of all documents will be forwarded to the local Board of Health, the Georgia Department of Human Resources, and the Georgia Tobacco Use Prevention Program.

Subsequent Complaints (Different Violation):

Follow Procedure for First Complaint

INJUNCTIVE RELIEF

STEP FIVE:

Counsel is instructed to file Petition no later than <u>(time frame to be determined by local CBOH)</u> days following receipt of the file. All evidence should be included in the file, including, but not limited to complaint form, photographs, all notice letters, correspondence, and witnesses' contact information.

STEP SIX:

A hearing on the Petition for Injunctive relief will be held. Upon the conclusion of the hearing, the Court order is placed in the Local Board's file with a copy forwarded to the local Board of Health and the Georgia Department of Public Health - Tobacco Use Prevention Program.

STEP SEVEN:

If the Court grants the injunction and the business fails to abide by the terms of the order, forward the file to local counsel to proceed with a contempt action.

KEY FOCUS AREAS FOR DULY AUTHORIZED AGENT(S) TO CONSIDER WHEN ENFORCING THE LAW:

Hours of Operation/Designating Smoking and Vaping Status

All non-exempt public places must declare their smoking and vaping status by posting the appropriate signage. All businesses and public places must post signage designating the business as: 1) No smoking or Vaping, 2) Smoking and Vaping Is Allowed, 3) Smoking and Vaping Is Allowed, No One Under the Age of 21 Permitted. All businesses and public places applying for a business license with the State must designate the smoking and vaping status of the business on the application and inform the public upon opening with the appropriate signage. If a public place is a non-smoking and non-vaping facility, it must remain non-smoking and non-vaping 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Signage

All public places must obtain appropriate signage for the smoking and vaping designation of the facility. The following specifications must be met to comply with the requirements related to "No Smoking or Vaping" signs:

- 1) <u>Visibility.</u> "No Smoking or Vaping" signs or signs bearing the international 'No Smoking and Vaping' symbol shall be easily readable, be conspicuously posted, and shall not be obscured in any way.
- 2) <u>Format.</u> The words 'No Smoking', 'No Vaping' 'Smoking Permitted', 'Vaping Permitted', 'Smoking and Vaping Permitted, No One Under the Age of 21 Allowed', and 'No Smoking or Vaping Beyond this Point' shall not be less than 1.5 inches in height. These signs shall bear the applicable annotated code section, 'O.C.G.A.§ 31-12A-1 et seq.'.
- 3) Smokefree and Vape-free Public Place. In a public place where smoking and vaping is prohibited, the building owner, agent, operator, person in charge or proprietor shall conspicuously post a sign bearing the words 'No Smoking or Vaping' or conspicuously post the international 'No Smoking or Vaping' symbol on all entrances or in a position clearly visible on entry into the place.
- 4) Smoking and Vaping Area in a Public Place. In a public place where smoking and vaping is allowed in an enclosed area, the building owner, agent, operator, person in charge, or proprietor shall conspicuously post a sign bearing the words 'Smoking and Vaping Permitted, No One Under the Age of 21 Allowed' on all entrances or in a position clearly visible on entry into the place. Such a sign must be posted if the exit of an area that allows smoking and vaping serves as an entrance to a smoke and vape-free area. The smoke and vape-free area must bear a sign with the international 'No Smoking or Vaping' symbol.
- 5) Exempt status. The building owner, agent, operator, person in charge, or proprietor of a public or private place that is exempt from the Act shall conspicuously post a sign using the words 'Smoking and Vaping Permitted, No One Under the Age of 21 Allowed' on all entrances or in a position clearly visible on entry into the place. A private residence is not required to comply with this provision unless such residence is used as a licensed childcare, adult day care, or health care facility.

Ventilation Systems and Separate Ventilated Rooms

The building owner, agent, operator, person in charge, or proprietor of a public place that desires to allow smoking and vaping must have a separate ventilation system for the designated enclosed area. Certification that the ventilation or air handling system serving the enclosed area meets the requirements as set for in the Act (see Rules of DHR Smokefree Air Act) must be obtained from a contractor licensed by the State of Georgia or from an appropriately certified professional. All public places allowing

smoking and vaping in designated rooms without separate ventilation systems are in violation of this Act and subject to injunctive relief.

Reasonable Distance/Outdoor Smoking and Vaping Areas

Smoking and vaping are prohibited at entrances, doorways, exits, windows, vents, or intake systems of a building where smoking and vaping is prohibited. Violations under this section are subject to injunctive relief. Smoking and vaping are allowed in outdoor smoking and vaping areas, but outdoor areas designated for smoking and vaping must be a reasonable distance from entrances, doorways, exits, windows, vents, or intake systems.

- (1) Reasonable Distance. The building owner, agent, operator, person in charge, or proprietor of a public place may designate an outdoor smoking and vaping area that is located a reasonable distance from any entrance, exit, window, vent, or air intake system of a building where smoking and vaping are prohibited.
 - (a) If the location of an entrance, exit, window, vent, or air intake system of a building where smoking and vaping are prohibited or if the location of a barrier, such as a wall, property line, parking lot, or street makes the reasonable distance requirement impossible to meet, then the building owner, agent, operator, person in charge or proprietor of a public place shall maximize the distance between the outdoor smoking and vaping area and the entrance, exit, window, or air intake system of a building where smoking and vaping are prohibited.
- (2) Ashtrays. Any ashtrays located in an outdoor smoking and vaping area shall be placed a reasonable distance from any entrance, exit, window, vent, or air intake system.

Acknowledgement of Complaint

Acknowled	lgement of (Complaint

Date

Name of Complainant

Address

Dear [Name of Complainant]:

Thank you for your support of the Georgia Smokefree Air Act. The Act prohibiting smoking and vaping in most public places (code section 31-12A-6-9A) went into effect on July 1, 2023.

The complaint form has been received. [Name of Business] will receive a notice of complaint from [Name of Duly Authorized Agent(s) Health District] along with, the Georgia Smokefree Air Act: A Guide for Business Owners and Employers and/or the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), Smoke-Free Policy in Public Housing Guidebook for apartments, to assist in addressing existing or potential compliance issues. [Name of Duly Authorized Agent(s) Health District] will send a follow-up letter 30 to 45 days with the conclusion of the complaint.

Please visit our website: https://dph.georgia.gov/chronic-disease-prevention/tobacco for more information on the Georgia Smokefree Air Act, the Georgia Tobacco Quit Line and additional information on tobacco use prevention.

Contact [Name of Duly Authorized Agent(s) Health District] at [phone number] with any questions or concerns.

Again, thank you for your support of the Georgia Smokefree Air Act.

Sincerely,

[Duly Authorized Agent(s)]

[Duly Authorized Agent(s)]

Acknowledgement of Complaint
Exempt Business
Date
Name of Complainant
Address
Dear [Name of Complainant]:
Thank you for your support of the Georgia Smokefree Air Act. The Act prohibiting smoking and vaping in most public places (code section 31-12A-6-9A) went into effect on July 1, 2023.
The complaint form has been received. [Name of Business] will receive a notice of complaint from [Name of Duly Authorized Agent(s) Health District] along with, the Georgia Smokefree Air Act A Guide for Business Owners and Employers, and/or the U.S. Department of Housing and Urbar Development (HUD), Smoke-Free Policy in Public Housing Guidebook for apartments to assist in addressing any potential compliance issues.
Unfortunately, this business is categorized as exempt according to the Georgia Smokefree Air Act Therefore, no further follow-up will take place regarding this complaint.
Please visit our website: https://dph.georgia.gov/chronic-disease-prevention/tobacco for more information on the Georgia Smokefree Air Act, the Georgia Tobacco Quit Line and additional information on tobacco use prevention.
Contact [Name of Duly Authorized Agent(s) Health District] at [phone number] with any questions or concerns.
Again, thank you for your support of the Georgia Smokefree Air Act.
Sincerely,

Notice of Complaint

Notice of Complaint

Date

Business Name

Business Address

Dear [Name]:

The [Name of Duly Authorized Agent(s) Health District] has received a complaint alleging that [Name of Business] has violated the Georgia Smokefree Air Act, O.C.G.A. § 31-12A-1 et seq. Specifically, the complaint alleges: [add the complaint here]

The Georgia Smokefree Air Act amendment went into effect on July 1, 2023, prohibits smoking and vaping inside most public areas, and outlines specific guidelines for allowing smoking and vaping in and around establishments that serve the public. All businesses are required to follow this law.

Additionally, all businesses are required to post the official signage with the notation of the corresponding State Health Code, which can be downloaded and printed free of charge from the following State of Georgia State Public Health web site: https://dph.georgia.gov/chronic-disease-prevention/tobacco/smoke-and-vape-free-places. The signage must be posted at eye level at entrances of the business.

Should any business fail to comply with this law, the [Name of Duly Authorized Agent(s) Health District] and its authorized agents reserve the right to seek immediate injunctive relief to enjoin a violation or abate a public nuisance, which is injurious to the public health, safety, or comfort, O.C.G.A. §31-5-9. The Georgia Department of Public Health Rules and Regulations 290-5-61-.09 thru 290-5-61-.10 further authorize criminal penalties in addition to injunctive relief.

This letter is offered to help [Name of Business] prevent potential fines and penalties for non-compliance. Also, enclosed is the Georgia Smokefree Air Act: A Guide for Business Owners and Employers and/or the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), Smoke-Free Policy in Public Housing Guidebook for apartments to help address any existing or potential compliance issues. Additional brochures can be obtained from the previously mentioned website. In addition, a potential site visit may take place.

For individuals who would like help in quitting, Georgia has a toll-free telephone cessation program known as the Georgia Tobacco Quit Line. Individuals can call 1-877-270-STOP (7867), Spanish 1-877-2NO-FUME (266-3863) or TTY 1-877-777-6534 (Hearing Impaired) or Text READY to 34191, Español Text LISTO to 34191. Please visit https://dph.georgia.gov/readytoquit for more information on cessation resources.

Contact [Name of Duly Authorized Agent(s) Health District] at [phone number] with any questions or concerns. Thank you for helping Georgia live healthy.

Sincerely,

[Duly Authorized Agent(s)]

CC: [Designated Supervisor]
Notice of Complaint **Exempt Business**

Date

Business Name

Business Address

Dear [Name]:

The [Name of Duly Authorized Agent(s) Health District] has received a complaint alleging that [Name of Business] has violated the Georgia Smokefree Air Act, O.C.G.A. § 31-12A-1 et seq. Specifically, the complaint alleges: [add the complaint here]

The Georgia Smokefree Air Act amendment went into effect on July 1, 2023, prohibits smoking and vaping inside most public areas, and outlines specific guidelines for allowing smoking and vaping in and around establishments that serve the public. All businesses are required to follow this law.

Additionally, all businesses are required to post the official signage with the notation of the corresponding State Health Code, which can be downloaded and printed free of charge from the following State of Georgia State Public Health web site: https://dph.georgia.gov/chronic-disease-prevention/tobacco/smoke-and-vape-free-places. The signage must be posted at eye level at entrances of the business.

This letter is offered to help [Name of Business] prevent potential fines and penalties for non-compliance. Also, enclosed is the Georgia Smokefree Air Act: A Guide for Business Owners and Employers and/or the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), Smoke-Free Policy in Public Housing Guidebook for apartments to help address any existing or potential compliance issues. Additional brochures can be obtained from the previously mentioned website.

According to the Georgia Smokefree Air Act, this business is categorized as exempt, therefore no additional follow-up will take place regarding this complaint.

For individuals who would like help in quitting, Georgia has a toll-free telephone cessation program known as the Georgia Tobacco Quit Line. Individuals can call 1-877-270-STOP (7867), Spanish 1-877-2NO-FUME (266-3863) or TTY 1-877-777-6534 (Hearing Impaired), or Text READY to 34191, Español Text LISTO to 34191. Please visit https://dph.georgia.gov/readytoquit for more information on cessation resources.

Contact [Name of Duly Authorized Agent(s) Health District] at [phone number] with any questions or concerns. Thank you for helping Georgia live healthy.

Sincerely,

[Duly Authorized Agent(s)]

CC: [Designated Supervisor]

First Violation Letter

First Violation
Date
Business Name
Business Address
Dear [Name]:
The [Name of Duly Authorized Agent(s) Health District] has received a complaint alleging [Name of Business] has violated the Georgia Smokefree Air Act. [Name of Duly Authorized Agent(s) Health District] investigation of the complaint concluded the following:
Based upon these findings, [Name of Business] is in violation of the Georgia Smokefree Air Act. To comply with the law, the following corrective action is required within fifteen (15) days of this notice:
[Name of Duly Authorized Agent(s) Health District] records indicate this is [Name of Business] first violation. If violations remain outstanding or subsequent unrelated violations are found, the Department of Human Resources (DHR) and its authorized agents reserve the right to pursue legal remedies without further notice. The Official Code of Georgia authorize this action §30-5-9 and the Georgia Department of Public Health Rules and Regulation, 290-5-6109. Should legal action become necessary, [Name of Business] may be subject to fines and/or other penalties deemed appropriate by the Court.
For individuals who would like help in quitting, Georgia has a toll-free telephone cessation program known as the Georgia Tobacco Quit Line. Individuals can call 1-877-270-STOP (7867), Spanish 1-877-2NO-FUME (266-3863) or TTY 1-877-777-6534 (Hearing Impaired), or Text READY to 34191, Español Text LISTO to 34191. Please visit https://dph.georgia.gov/readytoquit for more information on cessation resources.
Contact [Name of Duly Authorized Agent(s) Health District] at [phone number] with any questions or concerns.
Sincerely,
[Duly Authorized Agent(s)]

CC: [Designated Supervisor]

Second Violation Letter

Second Violation
Date
Business Name
Business Address
Dear [Name]:
The [Name of Duly Authorized Agent(s) Health District] has received a complaint alleging [Name of Business] has violated the Georgia Smokefree Air Act. [Name of Duly Authorized Agent(s) Health District] investigation of the complaint conducted on [date] concluded the following:
Based upon these findings, [Name of Business] is in violation of the Georgia Smokefree Air Act. This constitutes [Name of Business] second violation and as such, this matter will be referred to the legal authorities for further handling if corrective action is not taken immediately. To comply with the law, the following corrective action is required within 15 days of receipt of this notice:
Failure to implement corrective action will result in referral of this matter to legal authorities.
For individuals who would like help in quitting, Georgia has a toll-free telephone cessation program known as the Georgia Tobacco Quit Line. Individuals can call 1-877-270-STOP (7867), Spanish 1-877-2NO-FUME (266-3863) or TTY 1-877-777-6534 (Hearing Impaired), or Text READY to 34191, Español Text LISTO to 34191. Please visit https://dph.georgia.gov/readytoquit for more information on cessation resources.
Contact [Name of Duly Authorized Agent(s) Health District] at [phone number] with any questions or concerns.
Sincerely,
[Duly Authorized Agent(s)]
CC: [Designated Supervisor]

Final Violation Notice

Final Violation Notice
Date
Business Name
Business Address
Dear [Name]:
The [Name of Duly Authorized Agent(s) Health District] forwarded a Notice of Complaint on [date letter was sent], conducted a site visit on [date site visit was conducted] and mailed a First and Second Violation Letter on [date letters were sent, respectively] advising [Name of Business] was in violation of the Georgia Smokefree Air Act. Please see attached letters. The notice outlined the corrective action necessary to eliminate the violation and specified the timeframe for correcting the violation.
To date, [Name of the Business] has not implemented the corrective action and the violation remains. Should [Name of Business] fail to implement the corrective action(s) within fifteen (15) days of this Final Violation Notice, this matter may be referred to the legal authorities for further handling.
Contact [Name of Duly Authorized Agent(s) Health District] at [phone number] with any questions or concerns.
Sincerely,
[Duly Authorized Agent(s)]
CC: [Designated Supervisor]

Notice of Complaint and Investigative Findings Letter: No Violation