
GEORGIA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH

Newborn Screening Program

Georgia Newborn Screening Providers / Newborn Screening Program / October 16, 2024

Office Hours – October 2024



GEORGIA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH

1. Office Hours Overview
2. Congenital Cytomegalovirus (cCMV) Overview
3. Question and Answer Session
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Congenital Cytomegalovirus (cCMV) Overview
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1. Describe Georgia’s hearing-targeted cCMV testing and follow-up 
protocol.

2. List 2-3 roles and responsibilities of the birthing facility, individual 
conducting the newborn hearing screen, and primary care physician in 
the cCMV testing protocol.

3. Understand reporting requirements for cCMV results and follow-up 
procedures.

4. Locate cCMV resources and materials.

Learning Objectives
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Effective October 10, 2024, under Georgia Code Section 31-5-1, 
birthing facilities will be required to conduct congenital 
cytomegalovirus (cCMV) testing on all infants who fail their final 
newborn hearing screening before discharge and before 21 days 
of age.

Georgia Law
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Cytomegalovirus
• A common virus that is typically harmless 

to healthy children and adults
• Part of the herpes family – Once infected, 

CMV stays in your body in an inactive 
state that can reactivate

• Common in children 1-3 years of age, 
particularly if they attend daycare

• In the US, 1 in 3 children have been 
infected by 5 years of age; 50% of adults 
have been infected by 40 years of age

Congenital Cytomegalovirus
• CMV that is acquired by the fetus in 

utero
• Infants can be asymptotic or 

symptomatic 
• The “most common infectious disease 

cause of birth defects in the United 
States,” impacting 1 of every 200 births 

• Leading cause of non-genetic, 
childhood-onset sensorineural hearing 
loss

Cytomegalovirus vs. Congenital Cytomegalovirus  

Transmission: Spread by direct and indirect close contact with bodily fluids
 (e.g. saliva, urine, mucous, tears, etc.) 

National Center for Immunization and Respiratory Diseases, Division of Viral Diseases

https://www.cdc.gov/ncird/index.html
https://www.cdc.gov/ncird/dvd.html
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National CMV Foundation

Congenital Cytomegalovirus (cCMV)



GEORGIA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH

• 85-90% of infants with cCMV are born with clinically inapparent 
infections, and only 10-15% have symptomatic disease with detectable 
symptoms at birth. 

• The most common symptoms of cCMV include:
o Hearing loss 
o Microcephaly
o Petechiae
o Hepatosplenomegaly 
o Chorioretinitis
o Intrauterine Growth Restriction (IUGR)
o Brain abnormality 

cCMV Symptoms
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• 10–15% of asymptomatic cCMV+ infants will have hearing 
loss at birth or experience delayed-onset hearing loss.

• In the United States, 15–20% of all cases of bilateral moderate 
to profound sensorineural hearing loss (SNHL) in children are 
due to cCMV

• cCMV is the leading environmental cause of hearing loss 
among children, affecting 4:1000 newborns. 

Lanzieri, et al (2018);  Philips, et al (2023); Fowler, et al (2018)

cCMV and Hearing Loss
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Universal Screening
Test all infants for cCMV

Targeted Screening
Test for cCMV after 1-2 
failed hearing 
screenings

 

cCMV Testing Methods
Specimen Advantages Disadvantages

Dried Blood Spot Newborn Screening 
(NBS) process already 
in place

CMV viral load lower 
in blood (50-85% 
Sensitivity), less 
available specimen

Saliva* CMV viral load higher 
(88% Sensitivity)

Not part of existing 
NBS process; Possible 
contamination with 
breastmilk; Will 
require confirmatory 
urine sample if 
positive

Urine CMV viral load higher 
(79% Sensitivity); 
does not require 
additional testing

Not part of existing 
NBS Program; 
Challenges with 
collection

Dollard (2010); Schleiss, et al (2023) 

cCMV screening must 
occur prior to 21 days 
of life

*CDC recommended first-tier screening method
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States with Hearing Targeted cCMV 
Screening (Point of Care)

• Florida 
• Virginia 
• Illinois (to be offered*)
• Iowa
• Kentucky
• Maine 
• New York
• Pennsylvania 
• Utah
• Texas 
• Louisiana 
• Colorado

States with Universal cCMV Screening 
(Bloodspot Panel)

• Minnesota (February 2023)
• Connecticut (To begin 2025)
• New York (NICHD Grant, 2023-2024)

Updates on National cCMV Trends
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Newborn Screening and Genetics Advisory Committee 
(NBSAC) cCMV Working Group Efforts Timeline
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Rules and Regulations Adopted Amendments
(d) If the baby does not pass the initial or final inpatient newborn hearing screening test, in cases 
where a second test is performed, in accordance with the Georgia Newborn Screening Program Policy 
and Procedure Manual, the hospital or birthing center shall conduct cytomegalovirus testing before 
hospital discharge or 21 days of age, whichever occurs earlier;
(e) In the event that a baby is transferred to another hospital or birthing center before the newborn 
hearing screening test has been completed, then it is the responsibility of the second facility to ensure 
that a newborn hearing screening test and cytomegalovirus test, as indicated in subsection 3(d) of this 
Rule, is completed.
(4) The results of the hearing test shall be included in the baby’s clinical record, reported to the 
Department, and given to the parents or legal guardians along with any follow-up recommendations, 
in accordance with the Georgia Newborn Screening Policy and Procedure Manual.
(5) The results of the cCMV test shall be included in the baby’s clinical record, and the status of the 
cCMV test shall be provided to the baby’s physician or healthcare provider and the parent or legal 
guardian, in accordance with the Georgia Newborn Screening Policy and Procedure Manual.



GEORGIA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH

Rules and Regulations Adopted Amendments
Rule 511-5-5-.08 Abnormal Test Results

(4) In the event of an abnormal test for cytomegalovirus (cCMV), the provider administering 
the cCMV test shall notify the Department. The appropriate follow-up provider shall notify 
the baby’s physician or healthcare provider, and the parent or legal guardian, in accordance 
with the Georgia Newborn Screening Policy and Procedure Manual.
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Not universal screening  Hearing-targeted screening

Not a legislative mandate  GA DPH’s Rules and Regulations amendment

Samples are not sent to GPHL Birthing facilities to coordinate lab testing

Results are not reported on the bloodspot card  Birthing facilities must 
notify DPH separately 
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cCMV Testing and Follow-Up
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• Complete cCMV testing on all infants who fail their 
final initial hearing screening before 21 days of age 
and before discharge (whichever comes first).

• Inform parent and primary care physician in writing 
before discharge of the following:
o Hearing screening results and recommendations
o Status of cCMV testing (include results if available)

Birthing Facility Responsibilities

NOTE: cCMV testing will not affect discharge as only 
specimen collection is required prior to discharge, but 
results are NOT required to be obtained prior to 
discharge. 
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• Once the birthing facility receives the cCMV results:
o All results must be included in the infant’s medical record.
o All positive cCMV results must be reported to DPH within 7 days of 

the result (ideally within 3 days)
o In the event of an inconclusive or contaminated result after 

discharge, the provider who completed the test must notify DPH to 
ensure the child’s medical home is informed of the need for a repeat 
specimen collection. 

Birthing Facility Responsibilities
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• Determine the facility’s testing protocol (e.g., cCMV testing after the first 
failed or second failed hearing screening; whether urine or saliva will be 
collected).

• Designate a physician to oversee the medical aspects of both the 
newborn hearing screening and cCMV hearing-targeted testing program.

• Train all personnel who will be completing cCMV specimen collection 
using recommended methods.

• Develop a process for placing the cCMV order following a failed hearing 
screening. Consider adopting a standing order policy.

• Develop workflow for notifying DPH of positive cCMV cases.

Birthing Facility Internal Guidelines

Best Practice: Evaluate newborn hearing screening referral rate to ensure it is ≤4% to prevent 
over-screening for cCMV. Email DPH-NBS@dph.ga.gov if you need training or assistance. 

mailto:NBS-DPH@dph.ga.gov


GEORGIA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH

Final Failed Initial Hearing Screening:
• Communicate results to the medical provider responsible for ordering 

and/or conducting cCMV testing.
• If cCMV results are not known or if cCMV results are negative, a hearing 

re-screen should be recommended*
• If cCMV results are positive, a diagnostic Auditory Brainstem Response 

(ABR) should be completed instead of a screening. Refer directly to an 
audiologist.

Hearing Screener Responsibilities

*Follow the policies and procedures for newborn hearing screening as outlined in the Newborn 
Screening Policy and Procedure Manual

https://dph.georgia.gov/document/document/georgia-newborn-screening-policy-procedure-manual/download
https://dph.georgia.gov/document/document/georgia-newborn-screening-policy-procedure-manual/download
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• DPH’s designated follow-up 
program will educate and assist 
Healthcare Providers (HCP) with next 
steps and referral coordination for 
all positive cCMV cases reported 
before 21 days of life.

• Provide education and policy and 
procedure information to providers 
regarding the implementation of 
hearing-targeted cCMV testing.

DPH Responsibilities
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• Review hearing and cCMV testing status to ensure infants who 
failed inpatient hearing screening receive cCMV testing by 21 
days of life and receive timely hearing screening follow-up.

• If the infant did not receive a newborn hearing screening for 
some reason (e.g., home birth, missed, etc.), the HCP should refer 
for an outpatient hearing screening before 21 days of age and 
obtain cCMV testing if the child fails that screening.

• Refer for confirmatory cCMV testing by 21 days of life if the saliva 
specimen is positive.

Medical Home Responsibilities
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Positive Urine cCMV Results:
• Follow recommendations per cCMV follow-up program
• Make necessary referrals for follow-up testing

Medical Home Responsibilities
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cCMV Specimen Collection Procedures
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The saliva test can be used as a first-tier screen. Positive results from a 
saliva test require confirmatory urine PCR.
1. Must wait 1-2 hours after breastfeeding due to risk of 

contamination
2. Insert a sterile swab into the infant’s mouth between the gums and 

cheek and swirl for 10 seconds or until the swab is saturated
3. Follow test kit storage and transit guidelines 

Saliva Collection
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1. Sterile urine bag collection is the recommended method. 
     NOTE: Urine collection DOES NOT REQUIRE catheterization. 
2. Clean the genital area with water. Pat dry with a clean towel or 

gauze.
3. Place the urine bag on the infant.
4. Work with a birth parent to monitor the urine bag occasionally to 

ensure that it stays in place to avoid contamination, as it may take 
some time for a specimen to be collected.

5. Gently remove the urine bag and pour the sample into a sterile 
urine cup.

6. Follow test kit storage and transit guidelines. 

Urine Collection
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cCMV Reporting
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The provider who completed the test must notify DPH within 7 days of 
receipt (best practice is within 72 hours of result). 

NOTE: This can be delegated to other staff within the facility. 

Positive Results

Best Practice: The provider who completed the test should also notify the patient’s provider on 
record of the positive result so they can facilitate time-sensitive next steps.
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The provider who completed the test must notify DPH to ensure the 
child’s medical home is informed of the need for a repeat specimen 
collection. 

NOTE: This can be delegated to other staff within the facility. 

Inconclusive, Contaminated, etc.
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• Report all positive and inconclusive laboratory results for infants ≤21 days 
of age

• Includes all specimen types (e.g. saliva or urine)
• Includes both first-tier (i.e. saliva) specimen results and confirmation (i.e. 

urine) specimen results
• Must report within 7 days of result

cCMV Reporting Requirements
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SendSS
• Reports submitted in the 

notifiable condition module 
within SendSS

• Same process as all other 
notifiable conditions

Electronic Lab Reporting
• Reports of cCMV results for 

neonates (≤21 days of age) will be 
submitted to DPH directly from 
external laboratories

• Laboratory must set up reporting 
function to DPH

Reporting Methods

If facility doesn’t have access to SendSS or Electronic Lab Reporting, fax completed cCMV 
Laboratory Case Report to (404) 657-2773 or email to DPH-NBS@dph.ga.gov

mailto:DPH-NBS@dph.ga.gov
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• DPH provides infants with positive cCMV results timely follow-up services
o Informs medical provider on record of positive results, next steps, and 

necessary referrals
o Provides the patient’s family with information on cCMV and necessary 

next steps

• Notifiable condition requirement
• Required per GA Rule 511-5-5-.08 

Follow-up testing is urgent!

Why Report to DPH Within 7 Days?
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cCMV Follow-Up
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cCMV Follow-Up Protocol

DPH’s designated follow-up program 
will educate the healthcare provider 
on record, provide the next steps, 
and assist with referral coordination 
for all positive cases of cCMV 
reported to DPH before 21 days of 
life. 
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• No further cCMV testing is needed. cCMV has been ruled out.
• Refer for hearing re-screening or diagnostic ABR testing right away (if the 

infant also failed an outpatient hearing screening) as the infant still 
requires hearing follow-up testing.

Negative Saliva or Urine Result
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• Ensure the infant receives urine PCR prior to 21 days of life.
• Refer for hearing re-screening or diagnostic ABR testing 

immediately (if the infant also failed an outpatient hearing 
screening) as the infant still requires hearing follow-up testing.

Inconclusive, Contaminated, or Missed Result
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• Inform DPH of positive results within 7 days
• Possible congenital CMV; confirm with urine PCR to avoid false 

positives from breast milk contamination. Ensure baby receives 
urine cCMV PCR before 21 days of life.

• Refer to a pediatric audiologists for diagnostic ABR, as cCMV-
positive infants need ABR evaluation, not a hearing screen.

Positive First-Tier Saliva Result
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• No further cCMV testing is needed. cCMV has been confirmed.
• Complete the following before 30 days of age to evaluate further for 

evidence/extent of cCMV disease:
o Refer to Pediatric Infectious Disease Physician
o Refer to Pediatric Ophthalmology for dilated retinal exam 
o Refer to Pediatric Audiology for diagnostic Auditory Brainstem (ABR) 

Evaluation (hearing test)
o Refer to Pediatric Otolaryngologist 

• Complete the following tests:
o Complete Blood Count (CBC) with differential 
o Liver function panel with T/D bilirubin
o Head Ultrasound (HUS) 

Positive Confirmatory Urine Result
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• Refer to Early Intervention (Babies Can’t Wait). cCMV diagnosis 
automatically qualifies for enrollment.

• Monitor speech, language, and other developmental milestones.
• Follow-up with Pediatric Audiologist for repeated hearing testing at 

least every 6 months until age 3, then annually until age 10. 
• Routine vision testing.

Positive Urine Result, Long-Term Monitoring:
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Special Populations
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• The transferring hospital must provide hearing and cCMV testing status 
to the receiving facility upon transfer.

• The second facility must ensure newborn hearing screening and cCMV 
testing are completed if the infant is transferred before completion. 

• For newborns unable to complete hearing screening by 21 days, cCMV 
testing is at the medical practitioner’s discretion. Consult Pediatric 
Infectious Disease if the patient fails the final hearing screening after 21 
days or if other risk factors are present.

Neonatal Intensive Care Unit Transfers
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If one twin tests positive for cCMV, the other is at higher risk and 
should also be screened, even if they pass the hearing screening.

Multiple Births
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If an infant missed the newborn hearing screening (e.g., home birth, 
etc.), the HCP should refer for an outpatient hearing screening before 
21 days and follow outlined procedures based on results.

Missed Hearing Screenings
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• Parents/Guardians can refuse the cCMV test.

• They must complete a refusal form at the time of screening (e.g., 
at the birthing facility)

Parent Refusal 
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Helpful Resources
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• cCMV Policy and Procedure Manual
• Protocol Flow Sheets
• cCMV Refusal Form
• Audiological Monitoring Protocol
• cCMV Laboratory Case Report Form
• Newborn Hearing Screening Results and 

Recommendations Form

https://dph.georgia.gov/EHDI/ccmv 

Online Resources

https://dph.georgia.gov/EHDI/ccmv
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Ingrid Camelo, MD, FAAP, MPH 
Deepa Ranganathan, MD, MPH
Frank Berkowitz, MBBCh, MPH 
Jose Rodriguez-Torres, MD
Tom Adamkiewicz, MD
Lindsay Sternad, MD, MPH
Paula Harmon, MD, MBA, FACS, FAAP
Nandini Govil, MD, MPH
Kristan Alfonso, MD
Sharon Quary, MS
Fozia Khan Eskew, BA
Jessica Ashley, APRN, FNP-C
Melanie Morris, Au.D.

Sarah Jones, Au.D.
Suzanne Caruthers, M.A.
Darby Hightower, Au.D.
Margaret Butler Gipson, Au.D.
Brandt Culpepper, Ph.D.
Megan Pesch, MD, MS
Jason Boyce, BSN, RN 
Stephen Dryanksi, Au.D.
Eric Berg, MD
Eric Appelbaum, MD
Geoffrey Aaron, MD
Brian Wakeman, Ph.D., MS

Thank you, cCMV Task Force Members
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For additional information, please contact:

Georgia Newborn Screening Program
Email:  DPH-NBS@dph.ga.gov
Fax Number:  (404) 657-2773
Webpage:  www.dph.ga.gov/NBS 

Georgia Public Health Laboratory
Newborn Screening Unit
Phone: (404) 327-7950
Fax Number: (404) 327-7919
Webpage:  www.dph.ga.gov/lab 

Questions

mailto:DPH-NBS@dph.ga.gov
http://www.dph.ga.gov/NBS
http://www.dph.ga.gov/lab
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Thank you for screening Georgia’s newborns!



GEORGIA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH

Save the Date – November Office Hours

https://gapublichealth.webex.com/weblink/register/r4b6f740e5c1c7ef36385deac9ddee883 

https://gapublichealth.webex.com/weblink/register/r4b6f740e5c1c7ef36385deac9ddee883
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