

2 Peachtree Street NW, 15th Floor Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3142 www.health.state.ga.us

During the 2010 Georgia legislative session, a bill passed that amended Title 31 of the Official Code of Georgia Annotated (O.C.G.A.), relating to health. Specifically, the legislature amended several areas of law relating to Tanning Facilities, O.C.G.A. 31-38. A section was added to the Code that mandates registration with the Department of Public Health beginning January 1, 2011.

We ask that you carefully review all the information contained on the website, including the law, frequently asked questions/answers, registration application and sample warning sign. Then, submit your completed registration application and appropriate fees to the **Department, if your facility is not registered. A renewal notice will be sent to all facilities registered with the Department on an annual basis.** Our staff will process new and renewal applications and mail a certificate of registration to your facility.

The revised law reads as follows:

## O.C.G.A. 31-38-4.1

(a) After January 1, 2011, no person shall establish, maintain, or operate a tanning facility without first having registered with the department.

(b) A person shall register under this code section by submitting a form to the department. The form shall require only the name, address, telephone number of facility and owner and the model number and type of each ultraviolet lamp used in the tanning facility.

(c) A registrant shall be required to pay an annual registration fee of \$25.00 per tanning facility and an additional registration fee of \$15.00 per tanning device owned, leased, or otherwise used by the tanning facility.

Georgia code defines a tanning facility as any location, place, area, structure, or business or a part thereof which provides consumers access to tanning equipment. "Tanning facility" includes, but is not limited to, tanning salons, health clubs, apartments, or condominiums, regardless of whether a fee is charged for access to the tanning equipment. When determining what devices will require registration, the code defines "tanning equipment" as ultraviolet or other lamps and equipment containing such lamps intended to induce skin tanning through the irradiation of any part of the living human body with ultraviolet radiation.

This law requires registration on an annual basis. The fee is \$25 for the facility and \$15 for each tanning device located on the premises. Please complete the registration application and return with payment to the Department address on the form. Once the Department processes the application and fees, we will send a registration certificate to the facility. The certificate only



verifies compliance with the registration requirements of the law. As the owner/operator, you are responsible for compliance with all other new and existing code sections in Chapter 31-38. Our office will send all registered tanning facilities the information about the annual renewal process before each year's registration expires.

If you have any question, please call 404-657-6534. Thank you for your cooperation and for doing business in Georgia.

Maurice Redmond MS, REHS Public Pools, Tourist Accommodations and Tanning Program Director