Georgia Honor Roll for Antibiotic Stewardship

History of the Georgia Honor Roll for Antibiotic Stewardship

The Georgia Honor Roll for Antibiotic Stewardship was established in 2014 by the Healthcare Associated Infections Advisory Committee.  The goal of the program was to provide an incentive for acute care facilities and critical access hospitals to engage in antimicrobial stewardship.  The program consisted of two phases: an engagement phase and an implementation phase.  The engagement phase required facilities to present a statement of commitment from senior leadership, identify their antibiotic stewardship team, and conduct a staff educational event regarding antimicrobial stewardship. The implementation phase required facilities to demonstrate that a process to select appropriate stewardship activities was undertaken and that the impact of these activities was measured.

The program was a success as 53 total hospitals participated and were recognized for phase I criteria.  Additionally, 13 of these facilities went on to achieve phase II designation.  An archived listing can be found here

Georgia’s Updated Honor Roll for Antibiotic Stewardship

Since the release of the original Antibiotic Stewardship Honor Roll, several initiatives led by federal agencies have been introduced to further enhance antimicrobial stewardship in the inpatient settings.  The Joint Commission (TJC) issued antimicrobial stewardship accreditation standards which went into effect January 1, 2017.  The standards require hospitals, critical access hospitals, and nursing care centers to implement antimicrobial stewardship programs that align with current evidence-based practices. Additionally, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) published a proposed rule for hospitals and critical access hospitals in June 2016 requiring antimicrobial stewardship programs to demonstrate adherence to nationally recognized guidelines.

In light of these regulations, the Georgia Honor Roll for Antibiotic Stewardship was revised to encourage facilities to build sustainable programs or enhance their existing programs with evidence-based practices. Please refer to the Georgia Honor Roll for Antibiotic Stewardship Toolkit for program and application details.

Click here for the new Honor Roll Toolkit ♦ 

Click here for the Honor Roll Model Checklist

Click here for the Application Form


Current Honorees

Facility  Gold    Silver 


Appling Healthcare System  


Augusta University Medical Center


Cancer Treatment Centers of America – Atlanta


Coliseum Northside Hospital


DeKalb Medical Center 


Dorminy Medical Center 


Eastside Medical Center 


Elbert Memorial Hospital 


Emory Johns Creek Hospital 


Emory University Hospital Midtown 


Floyd Medical Center 


Gordon Hospital


Grady Health System 


Gwinnett Medical Center 


Habersham Medical Center


Hamilton Health Care System 


Miller County Hospital 


Morgan Memorial Hospital 


Mountain Lakes Medical Center  


Northside Hospital Atlanta 


Northside Hospital Cherokee 


Northside Hospital Forsyth 


Phoebe Putney Memorial Hospital 


Piedmont Athens Regional 


Piedmont Atlanta Hospital 


Piedmont Columbus Regional - Midtown 


Piedmont Fayette Hospital


Piedmont Henry Hospital 


Piedmont Mountainside Hospital 


Piedmont Newnan Hospital 


Piedmont Newton Hospital


Piedmont Rockdale Hospital 


Piedmont Walton Hospital


Polk Medical Center 


Redmond Regional Medical Center 


Roosevelt Warms Springs Rehabilitation Hospital 


St. Mary’s Hospital and Health Care System


St. Mary’s Sacred Heart Hospital 


University Health Care System 


WellStar Atlanta Medical Center


WellStar Atlanta Medical Center South


WellStar Cobb Hospital 


WellStar Kennestone Hospital 


WellStar North Fulton Hospital


WellStar Paulding Hospital


WellStar West Georgia Medical Center 


West Central Georgia Regional Hospital





















Page last updated: 8/20/2019