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On February 9th, 10th, and 11th, the 
State Office held the first quarter 
Probate Judge Registrar Training in 
Gwinnett, Bibb, and Cook counties. 
Thank you to those who joined us. 
Your participation and feedback was 
greatly appreciated. And we extend a 
very special thank you to all of the 
Executive Probate Council Members 
who attended and those who assisted 
with the coordination of the meetings. 
The meeting was videotaped and will 
be available on our website soon. 

T

CONSTITUENTS' CORNER:
Same-Sex Marriages 
The legalization of same-sex marriages does not impact Vital Records’ 
processes. Our processes are the same for opposite and same sex 
couples. For example, a same sex couple who married in 2014 and had 
a baby in 2016 would need to have proof of marriage to have their 
spouse’s name added to the birth certificate, just as an opposite sex 
couple would need. The Paternity Acknowledgment/Legitimation (PA) 
also remains the same. That is, the purpose of the PA is to establish 
the biological relationship between the child and the father. Therefore, 
the PA does not apply to same sex couples. 

HANK YOU FROM
Director Moore!

FROM THE DIRECTOR'S 
DESK

You asked and we’re answering, straight from 
the director’s desk!

Q. How does a local county registrar know
when a correction or an amendment is
completed?

A. Currently, the county registrar is notified of a
completed correction or amendment through an
email or a telephone call from the State Office.

Q. How do local county registrars get forms
for amendments, PAs, corrections, and
disposition permits?

A. Currently the forms are available at the State
Office and will be available on DPH Vital
Records website late spring. Please contact
robin.whitehead@dph.ga.gov with requests.

Q. Do I have to keep copies of disposition
permits I issue?]

A. Disposition permits are required by law to be
kept indefinitely. [31.10.20, 511.1.3.23]

Consider keeping electronic copies rather than 
hard copies.

As a local registrar, you are required to make 
disposition permits available 24 hours a day, 7 
days a week.  

In the future, the disposition permits will be 
automatically generated and available through 
the death record in GAVERS.
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The State Office is pleased to introduce Cheryl Berry-Desbordes, the new Regional Consultant for Eastern 
counties of Georgia. Cheryl joined the DPH Vital Records staff in January 2016.  During her 25 year Public Health 
career, she has worked to impact the dimensions of health at the federal, state, and local levels.  Having served 
the State of Georgia for 10 years, she has had many opportunities to play a significant role in health promotion 
through wellness and disease prevention collaborative efforts.  As a Regional Consultant, she will work to 
improve surveillance by assuring the accuracy of records and data concerning vital events.  Cheryl earned a 
Master of Science in Public Health from the University of North Carolina in Chapel Hill and a Bachelor of Arts in 
Public Health and Chemistry from the University of Maryland. 

SIGNING BIRTH AND DEATH CERTIFICATES
Georgia Department of Public Health Regulation 511-1-3-.33 provides that the state registrar, custodian or his or 
her designee is allowed to signature certificates. Accordingly, only a registrar or a deputy registrar with a 
signature on file with the State Office can sign a birth certificate. As part of our security and fraud prevention 
efforts, we are able to verify the validity of a certificate by the signature. Regarding death certificates, the state 
registrar’s signature is on the back to the left, and to the right there is a field labeled “Issued by”. The Clerk may 
sign their name in the ‘Issuer’ field and then emboss their signature with the local county seal. 

UPDATING LOCAL COUNTY EMPLOYEES’ STATUS
For various reasons (i.e. retirement, resignation, new position, name change/marital status, etc.), the need 
sometimes arises for you to remove, delete, or change an employee’s status. When it does, know that all changes 
or updates regarding your staff must be submitted through the GAVERS landing page (https://gavers.dph.ga.gov/
welcome.htm) for immediate follow up and resolution. This request must be authorized by  a funeral director, 
probate judge, or county registrar. It is important that GAVERS accounts are disabled as soon as an employee’s 
role or status changes.

GAVERS TECHNICAL TIPS: 
NOTIFICATIONS!

The State Office of Vital Records often gets calls inquiring about the status of a record.  It can be a little bit 
confusing when it comes to tracking your record. The GAVERS application will trigger notifications at various 
points during the creation of a record. The notifications are emailed to the e-mail address associated with a 
funeral director or medical certifier as recorded by the GAVERS application. 

The first notification occurs when a funeral home designates a record to a medical certifier. This notification will 
alert medical certifiers that a record has been assigned to them and can be accepted or rejected at this point. The 
second notification occurs when the medical certifier certifies the record. This notification is e-mailed to the 
funeral director and is intended as a signal for funeral directors to verify the record. Once the record is verified, 
the local county becomes the owner of the record. The third and final notification will also go out to the e-mail 
address associated with the funeral director of the origination funeral home. The third notification is triggered 
when the record is registered\released by the local county.

Again, it is important to note that notifications will only go out to the e-mail address of the funeral director and the 
medical certifier as recorded by the GAVERS application. If you are a funeral director or a medical certifier and 
you do not receive the GAVERS notification mentioned in this article, please enter a support ticket online at 
https://gavers.dph.ga.gov/welcome.htm  and click on the Report GAVERS Issue(s) link.

KEEPING COPIES OF PAPER CUSTODIAL RECORDS

Whenever a death record is entered into the system, the electronic copy serves as your paper custodial copy.  
Meaning, you don’t need to print it and put a custodial copy in your files because you have the official record at 
your fingertips through GAVERS.  Additionally, there is reporting capability in GAVERS that allows you to track 
the registered records for your county.  You can choose to record in your docket book, death index, and file in 
your vault.  But, there are other technologies and reporting capabilities available to you through GAVERS that will 
serve the same purpose for you. In terms of the hard copy of the “long form” or “drop to paper”, the following two 
options are suggested: 1) scan and store the original electronically, or 2) continue to store the hard copy in your 
files.  

Welcome 
Cheryl Berry-Desbordes

Regional Consultant (East)
Cheryl.berry-desbordes@dph.ga.gov
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Rank          Avg. Days to 
         Register a Birth

50 or Fewer Births

51 to 200 Births

201 or More Births

1.4
1.7
2.1
1.8
2.9

3.0
2.2
3.8
2.8
3.4

2.6
2.0
3.6
1.9
3.0

Birth Record Ratings: THE TOP FACILITIES

1. West Georgia Health System
2. Tift Regional Medical Center
3. Meadows Regional Medical Center
4. Colquitt Regional Medical Center
5. Southeast Georgia Health System Glynn

GAVERS TESTIMONIAL 
During a recent three month period (11/15-01/16), 44% of Chatham County’s 
death records were registered electronically via Georgia’s Vital Events 
Registration System (GAVERS). This is in large part a result of Hospice 
electronic GAVERS participation. Chief Medical Officer at Hospice Savannah, 
Dr. Kelly Erola, states, “GAVERS is easy to use, efficient and allows for a 
faster turn-around for death certificates and greater accuracy and legibility.” 
Please encourage your local medical certifiers to utilize Georgia’s Vital Events 
Registration System.

Congratulations to those medical facilities whose February ratings for timeliness and 
completeness have placed them in the top rankings in the state of Georgia. The scores 
were calculated using the new, stricter standards from NCHS. 

1. Mayo Clinic Health Systems In Waycross
2. Wayne Memorial Hospital
3. Irwin County Hospital
4. Liberty Regional Medical Center
5. Memorial Hospital and Manor

CYCLE TIME TO 
REGISTER A DEATH
The State Office of Vital Records has 
begun tracking cycle times of death 
registration by county and days. Please 
ask your regional consultant for your 
county's results. 
#1 Towns, 8.7
#2 Ware, 9.1
#3 Rabun, 9.5
#4 Union, 9.8
#5 Bacon, 10.0
#6 Wayne, 10.2
#7 Screven, 10.6
#8 Bulloch, 10.7
#9 Gilmer, 10.8
#10 Berrien, 10.8

CONTACT 
INFORMATION
Regional Training & Support Manager 
Joseph Little - (404) 486-6344

Regional Consultant (East)
Cheryl Berry-Desbordes - (404) 679-4742

Regional Consultant (South)
Michael Coombs - (404) 901-1615

Regional Consultant (West)
Mannett Foster - (404) 901-1634

Regional Consultant (North)
Donna Thomas - (404) 414-9216

Regional Coordinator
Justin Davis - (404) 679-4775

State Office of Vital Records 
Contact Center - (404) 679-4702

System Support Manager
Robby Braumuller - (404) 679-4744

Hardware Support Coordinator 
Michael Valle - (404) 679-4740

Technical Support Representative 
Petra Hood - (404) 679-4738

Technical Support Representative 
Shawnketrius Tukes - (404) 679-4728

1. Memorial Health University Medical Center
2. Candler Hospital
3. Phoebe Putney Memorial
4. Grady Health System
5. Wellstar Kennestone Hospital
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