|   | Georgia Child Passenger Safety Law (40-8-76) |   |         |   |
|---|--|---|---------|---|
|   | Under 1 yr                                   | 1-3 yrs   | 4-7 yrs | 8-18 yrs  |
| Less than<br>20 lbs                             | Rear-facing<br>car seat                      | Rear-facing<br>car seat   |         |   |
| 21-40 lbs                                       | Rear-facing<br>car seat                      | Rear or Forward-facing car seat   |         |   |
| Over<br>40 lbs<br>Under 4' 9"                   |  | Forward-facing or<br>Booster seat <mark>plus</mark> lap <mark>and</mark><br>shoulder belt |         | Booster seat <b>plus</b><br>lap <b>and</b> shoulder<br>belt <b>or</b> seat belt |
| Over 4′ 9″                                      |  |   |         | Seat belt   |
| See description of restraint type on other side |  |   |         |   |

## Look for GROSS MISUSE or NON-USE

Non-use of car seats is the worst type of misuse. Gross misuse may include:

- No seat belt or LATCH attachments anchoring the car seat.
- No harness straps securing the child in the car seat.
- A rear-facing child in the front seat with an active air bag.
- An infant or toddler less than 1 year-old facing forward.

For questions or more information email injury@dhr.state.ga.us or call (404) 679-0500.

Developed by the Georgia Department of Public Health and the Georgia Governor's Office of Highway Safety, 2011.

#### A REAR-FACING CAR SEAT is the

best seat for your young child to use. It has a harness and in a crash, cradles and moves with your child to reduce the stress to the child's fragile neck and spinal cord.

## A FORWARD-FACING CAR SEAT has a harness and tether that limits your child's forward movement during a crash.

#### A BOOSTER SEAT

positions the seat belt so that it fits properly over the stronger parts of your child's body.

#### A SEAT BELT should

lie across the upper thighs and be snug across the shoulder and chest to restrain the child safely in a crash. It should not rest on the stomach area or across the neck.

# DESCRIPTION OF RESTRAINT TYPES

### Birth - 12 months

Child under age 1 should always ride in a rear-facing car seat, in the back seat.



\*Age 1 - 3 years

Rear-facing in back seat, as long as possible, within the height or weight limit allowed by car seat manufacturer. Then forwardfacing car seat in back seat.



Age 4 - 7 years

Forward-facing car seat used within the height or weight limit allowed by the car seat manufacturer. Then a booster seat using lap and shoulder seat belt in the back seat.

\*American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) recommends a rear-facing car seat until 2 years of age or until they reach the highest height or weight allowed by the car seat manufacturer.



Age 8 - 12 years

Booster seat until seat belt fits properly with lap belt snug across the upper thighs, not the stomach and shoulder belt snug across the chest, not across the neck or face. Keep children in the back seat until age 13.