

7th Grade Vaccination Requirements

What is the pertussis booster requirement?

All students born on or after January 1, 2002 and entering or transferring into 7th grade need proof of an adolescent pertussis (whooping cough) booster immunization (called "Tdap"). Proof of Tdap immunization must be documented on the Georgia immunization certificate (Form 3231).

What is Tdap and what are the diseases that the Tdap vaccine prevents?

Tdap is a booster vaccine for older children, adolescents, and adults. It safely protects against 3 dangerous diseases: tetanus, diphtheria, and pertussis (also called whooping cough).

- Pertussis also known as whooping cough is a contagious disease that causes violent coughing fits that make it hard to breathe. It spreads easily when someone with the disease coughs or sneezes. The cough can last for months. Pertussis is particularly dangerous for young babies.
- Tetanus causes a severe, painful tightening (spasms) of muscles, including of the jaw ('lockjaw'), which can limit swallowing and breathing.
- Diphtheria is a throat infection that can lead to breathing problems, paralysis, heart failure and death.

Do ALL 7th grade students need to get the pertussis immunization (Tdap)?

Yes. Unless they have an exemption, all students born on or after January 1, 2002 and entering 7th grade must have proof having received the Tdap booster shot. This includes current and new students in both public and private schools. Students who have already received the Tdap vaccine will need to show proof with a new Georgia immunization certificate (Form 3231), so check with your doctor or health care provider.

Why does my child need Tdap?

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) recommends Tdap for preteens at ages 11 or 12 years for protection against tetanus, diphtheria and pertussis (whooping cough). Protection provided by the DTaP vaccine received in childhood wears off as kids get older, so preteens and teens need a booster shot known as Tdap. Getting this booster not only protects preteens and teens, but also the people around them.

When should my child get vaccinated with Tdap?

The Centers for Disease Control (CDC) recommends Tdap booster immunization for:

- Adolescents age 11-12 years
- Adolescents age 13-19 years, who have not yet received it

What if my child had whooping cough recently or in the past?

Any protection (immunity) developed after having pertussis disease wears off, leaving your child at risk for getting pertussis again. A pertussis booster shot is needed to protect your child in the future and to meet the school requirement.

Instead of getting a Tdap booster to meet the requirement, can my child get a blood test to check for protection (immunity) against pertussis?

No. Testing for immunity to pertussis is not reliable and will not meet the school requirement.

What if my child does not have proof of a Tdap shot before school starts?

Your child may not be able to attend school until you submit the documentation for the Tdap requirement to the school.

How long do you have to wait after your last tetanus shot (Td) before getting Tdap?

According to the CDC recommendations, the dose of Tdap required for the school law may be given at any time after the last tetanus shot.

Where can my child get vaccinated?

Your child can visit their doctor or health care provider to get their Tdap shot. Local Health Departments also offer the Tdap vaccine. To find a Health Department near you visit: http://dph.georgia.gov/public-health-districts.

Are there other vaccines recommended for adolescents and teens? Yes, CDC recommends a seasonal influenza (flu) vaccination to protect teens from the flu, and HPV vaccination to protect them from most of the cancers caused by human papillomavirus (HPV) infection. Although not required for school attendance in Georgia, they are strongly recommended. They can be given at the same time as other vaccines.

Where can I go for more information? For more information, visit the Georgia Department of Public Health, Immunization Office website at http://dph.georgia.gov/immunization-section or CDC's website at http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/vpd-vac/pertussis/.

Have questions?

Talk with your Healthcare Provider. http://dph.georgia.gov/immunization-section



7th Grade Vaccination Requirements

What is the meningococcal disease (meningitis) vaccination requirement?

All students born on or after January 1, 2002 and entering or transferring into 7th grade need proof of an adolescent meningococcal (meningitis) vaccination. Proof of meningitis vaccination must be documented on the Georgia immunization certificate (Form 3231).

What is meningococcal disease?

Meningococcal disease is a serious bacterial illness. It is a leading cause of bacterial meningitis in children 2 through 18 years old in the United States. Meningitis is an infection of the covering of the brain and the spinal cord. High fever, headache, vomiting, stiff neck and a rash are symptoms of meningococcal disease. Meningitis can cause shock, coma, and death within hours of the first symptoms. Among people who develop meningitis, 10 to 15 percent die, in spite of treatment with antibiotics. Of those who live, permanent brain damage, hearing loss, kidney failure, loss of arms or legs, or chronic nervous system problems can occur. This is why preventing the disease through use of meningococcal vaccination is important.

Do ALL 7th grade students need to get the meningitis vaccination?

Yes. Unless they have an exemption, all entering 7th grade must have proof of having received a meningococcal vaccination. This includes current and new students in both public and private schools. Students who have already received the meningococcal vaccine will need to show proof with a new Georgia immunization certificate (Form 3231), so check with your doctor or health care provider.

Why does my child need the meningitis vaccine?

Vaccination is one of the most effective ways to prevent most meningococcal diseases and this requirement will help protect your child. Seventy-six percent of meningococcal cases among 11-19 year olds are vaccine preventable. In addition to it being a requirement for school, children who get a meningococcal shot will be better protected during their school years.

When should my child get vaccinated with the meningococcal vaccine?

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) recommends that children age 11 - 12 years be routinely vaccinated with a meningococcal vaccination and receive a booster dose at age 16 years.

What if my child had meningitis recently or in the past?

A meningococcal vaccination is needed to both protect your child in the future and to meet the school requirement.

Instead of getting a meningococcal shot to meet the requirement, can my child get a blood test to check for protection (immunity) against meningococcal disease?

No. Testing for immunity to meningococcal disease is not reliable and will not meet the school requirement.

What if my child does not have proof of a meningococcal shot before school starts?

Your child may not be able to attend school until you submit the documentation (Form 3231) for the meningococcal vaccination requirement to the school.

Where can my child get vaccinated?

Your child can visit their doctor or health care provider to get their meningococcal shot. Local Health Departments also offer the meningococcal vaccine. To find a Health Department near you visit: http://dph.georgia.gov/public-health-districts.

Are there other vaccines recommended for adolescents and teens? Yes, CDC recommends a seasonal influenza (flu) vaccination to protect teens from the flu, and HPV vaccination to protect them from most of the cancers caused by human papillomavirus (HPV) infection. Although not required for school attendance in Georgia, they are strongly recommended. They can be given at the same time as other vaccines.

Where can I go for more information? For more information, visit the Georgia Department of Public Health, Immunization Office website at http://dph.georgia.gov/immunization-section or CDC's website at http://www.cdc.gov/meningococcal/vaccine-info.html

Have questions?

Talk with your Healthcare Provider. http://dph.georgia.gov/immunization-section