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Georgia Newborn Screening Program

Confirm that  your newborn baby has 
been screened for serious conditions
BEFORE YOU LEAVE THE HOSPITAL.

Blood screening form number #

Hearing screening Pass   q Refer  q

CCHD screening Pass   q Fail     q

Use this section to record your baby’s screening results:

Baby’s Name: ________________________ Birth Date: _____________

Record Your Baby Screening Results



Blood Screening
• �The blood screening tests for 29  

disorders

• �All 29 of the disorders are treatable  
and it is important to get treatment  
early

• �Several drops of blood will be taken  
from your baby’s heel at 24 to  
48 hours old

• �If a repeat test is needed, bring  
your baby into their doctor’s office  
as soon as you can. If a problem  
exists, quick action is very important

CCHD Screening
• �Pulse oximetry screening is a simple, painless test that is 

used to measure the amount of oxygen in the blood and 
detect CCHD

• �If a baby is identified as possibly having CCHD, the baby 
will be referred or transferred to a specialist for further 
evaluation and treatment

As a Parent, you want to do all you  
can to make sure your child is healthy!

Most babies with serious disorders appear healthy 
and show no signs of being sick right after birth. 
The following tests can find serious diseases 
during the newborn period and are required  
by Georgia law:

• Hearing Screening
• �Blood Screening (including Severe Combined  

Immunodeficiency (SCID)
• �Critical Congenital Heart Disease (CCHD) Screening

Hearing Screening
• �More than half of babies born with hearing problems 

are otherwise healthy and have no family history of 
hearing loss

• �Hearing screening is safe and painless and is the most 
efficient way to know that your baby can hear

• �If your baby does not pass the hearing screen in the 
hospital, talk with his or her doctor to have hearing 
tested again by 1 month of age

• �Early detection of hearing loss and early intervention 
can help your baby develop to their full potential

BABIES BORN OUTSIDE OF A HOSPITAL,
birthing center or other health care facility  

also require screening.  
The attendant that delivers your baby will tell you  

where and when to get your baby tested.

DON’T DELAY—every moment is critical!

In Georgia, sickle cell  
disease is the most  
common disorder found 
through newborn blood 
screening. Babies with  
sickle cell disease are at  
risk for serious infections 
and organ damage.  

Quick Fact:


