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Dear Members of the Georgia Business Community: 

In May 2005, Governor Sonny Perdue signed the Georgia Smokefree Air Act  
of 2005 into law (O.C.G.A. 31-12A-l et seq.) effective July 1, 2005. The law  
prohibits smoking inside most public areas and outlines specific guidelines  
for allowing smoking in and around establishments that serve the public. This  
legislation is aligned with the mission of the Georgia Department of Public  
Health (DPH) of protecting the health of Georgians.

Please review the Georgia Smokefree Air Act of 2005: A Guide for Business  
Owners and Employers. This guide will provide suggestions on how to: 

· Educate your employees and customers on the law. 
· Comply with the law.  
· Offer cessation resources to employees who want to quit smoking. 

In addition, the Georgia Department of Public Health has information on  
how a business/workplace can adopt and implement a tobacco-free policy:  
dph.georgia.gov/workplaces.

You may also wish to visit http://dph.georgia.gov/tobacco-free-places to learn  
more about the Act and to download signs and other materials.

We hope that you find this guide helpful in making the environment smokefree.  
I look forward to working with you to create a healthier Georgia.

Sincerely,

Jean O’Connor
Chronic Disease Prevention Director
Georgia Department of Public Health



What is the Georgia Smokefree Air Act  
of 2005?
In May 2005, Governor Sonny Perdue signed the Georgia 
Smokefree Air Act into law effective July 1, 2005. The law 
prohibits smoking inside most public areas and outlines 
specific guidelines for allowing smoking in and around  
establishments that serve the public. However, the Act 
does allow for more restrictive local laws, rules and  
regulations that are currently in place or may be passed  
in the future. 

All worksites covered by the law are strongly encouraged  
to post their smoking policy along with signs that desig-
nate smoking and non-smoking areas as required by law. 

Why is this law helpful to me as a  
business owner?
By complying with the law, businesses and employers  
will reduce the burden of tobacco on their employees  
and patrons. Tobacco use, particularly smoking is the  
leading preventable cause of death in the United States 
 in users and non-users. It is responsible for $1.8 billion  
in healthcare costs and $3.2 billion in lost productivity  
annually in Georgia. Reducing secondhand smoke ex-
posure for employees and patrons, particularly children 
makes restaurants and public establishments safer,  
cleaner and more enjoyable. Ultimately, it can also  
reduce associated healthcare costs.

What is secondhand smoke?
Secondhand smoke is a mixture of the smoke exhaled  
from the lungs of smokers and the smoke from the  
burning end of a cigarette, pipe or cigar. Secondhand 
smoke is a class A carcinogen that can cause cancer in  
any part of the body. This mixture contains more than 
4,000 chemicals and at least 60 carcinogens that are 
known to cause cancer in humans or animals. 

Exposure to secondhand smoke can contribute to or  
cause severe health problems in both smokers and 
non-smokers, including cancer, respiratory diseases, 
emphysema, heart disease, sudden infant death syndrome 
(SIDS) and asthma. Children and pregnant women are 
especially vulnerable to the effects of secondhand smoke. 
The longer the exposure to secondhand smoke, the more 
harmful it can be to your health.

Where is smoking NOT allowed by  
the law?
• �Smoking is prohibited in all enclosed facilities, including build-

ings owned, leased or operated by the state or local governing 
authorities.

•�Smoking is prohibited in all enclosed public places except as 
indicated in code section 31-12A-6.

•�Smoking is prohibited in all enclosed areas within places of  
employment unless authorized in code section 31-12A-6.  
Examples include:

Tobacco use, particularly smoking is the  
leading preventable cause of death in  
the United States in users and non-users.

- �Restaurants and bars,  
except as noted in exemptions 

- Common work areas 
- Medical facilities
- Auditoriums
- Cafeterias
- Classrooms
- Stairs

- Private offices
- Restrooms
- Elevators 
- Hallways 
- Employee lounges
- Conference rooms
- Meeting rooms
- All other enclosed facilities



• �An owner, operator, manager or other person in control of an 
establishment, facility or outdoor area may declare an entire 
area as a non-smoking area.

• �The owner, operator, manager or other person in control of any 
area in which smoking is prohibited must remove all ashtrays.

• Smoking is prohibited wherever a no-smoking sign is posted.

Where is smoking allowed?
The following areas are exempt from the general rule  
that smoking is prohibited on the condition that a sign  
indicating that smoking is permitted must be posted  
conspicuously at every entrance:

• Bars and restaurants, as follows:

All bars and restaurants that deny access to any person 
under the age of 18 and that do not employ individuals under 
the age of 18; or

Private rooms in restaurants and bars if the rooms  are 
enclosed and have an air handling system independent from 
the main air system that serves all other areas of the building 
and all air within the private room is exhausted directly to the 
outside by an exhaust fan of sufficient size.

• �Hotel and motel rooms that are rented to guests and are  
designated as smoking rooms.

• Long-term care facilities as defined in the law.

• �Private and semiprivate rooms in health care facilities  
licensed under code section 31-8-81 that are occupied by  
one or more persons. Written authorization is required from 
the treating physician to smoke.

• Outdoor areas of places of employment.

• Designated smoking areas in international airports.

• �All workplaces of any manufacturer, importer or wholesaler 
of tobacco products, of any tobacco leaf dealer or processor 
of tobacco products, all tobacco storage facilities and other 
facilities listed in code section 10-13A-2.

• �Retail tobacco stores, provided that secondhand smoke does 
not infiltrate to areas where smoking is prohibited. 

• �Smoking areas designated by an employer. The designated 
smoking area must be for employees only, must be located in  
a non-work area and must have an independent air handling 
system. This exemption does not apply to restaurants and 
bars.

• �Convention facility meeting rooms and public and private as-
sembly rooms within a convention facility that is not leased or 
operated by the state or local governing authority while used 
for private functions. Individuals under age 18 are prohibited 
from attending or working as an employee during the function. 

• �Common work areas, conference rooms, meeting rooms and 
private offices in private places of employment, other than 
medical facilities that open to the general public by appoint-
ment only. However, smoking is still prohibited in any public 
reception area of such place of employment.

• �Private clubs, military officer clubs and noncommissioned 
officer clubs.

Private residences are exempt from the general rule that 
smoking is prohibited except when used as a licensed child 
care, adult daycare or healthcare facility.

To comply with the law:

• Update your workplace smoking policy based on the law.

• Talk with your customers and employees about the law.

• �Discuss the law with employees including what they should 
do to comply with the law. Information about the law must 
be communicated to all employees, included in the employee 
handbook and to each prospective employee upon application 
for employment.

• �Post the appropriate sign (”no smoking” or “smoking is 
allowed”) at all entrances including bathrooms, stairwells on 
each floor, bulletin boards, and other prominent places. Visit 
dph.georgia.gov/tobacco-free-places to view and download 
signs.

• �Request any person smoking to refrain from smoking inside 
the workplace.

• �Refer to the law and to workplace policy when dealing with 
employees who smoke in the workplace. Remind employees 
that they may be assessed a criminal fine for infractions.

• �Ask employees to report problems directly to the manager or 
owner of the business or to the building’s management.

• ��Remove all ashtrays from the premises.



What are the penalties?
A person smoking in violation of the law will be guilty of a 
misdemeanor and fined not less than $100 and not more 
than $500.

A business that allows smoking in violation of the law can 
be fined through the process of injunctive relief where the 
amount of the fine will be determined by the court.

dph.georgia.gov/smoke-free-enforcement

What about ordinances that existed  
before July 1, 2005?
Effective July 1, 2005, the law prohibits smoking inside  
most public areas and outlines specific guidelines for  
allowing smoking in and around establishments that serve 
the public. However, the Act does allow for more restrictive 
local laws, rules, and regulations that are currently in place  
or may be passed in the future. 

How can I support my employees who 
want to quit smoking?
The Georgia Tobacco Quit Line provides free counseling, 
support and referral services for tobacco users. Quit Line 
services are available for Georgia residents ages 13 and 
older who want to quit. Visit dph.georgia.gov/ready-quit for 
cessation resources. Make cessation resources available to 
your employees. You may also want to consider including 
coverage in your employee health plan for tobacco cessation 
counseling and pharmacotherapy (e.g., nicotine replacement 
therapy).

How can I get more information about 
the Georgia Smokefree Air Act?
There are several ways to get more information about the 
Georgia Smokefree Air Act.

dph.georgia.gov/smoke-free-enforcement
1-877-343-3340 (toll-free)

404-657-3378 (metro Atlanta area)
chronic.disease@dph.ga.gov

What you can do at your workplace
Review state and local no-smoking laws. Be aware that the 
Act does allow for more restrictive local laws, rules and reg-
ulations that are currently in place or may be passed in the 
future

Notify everyone in the workplace about the state  
no smoking law:

• Include the law in the employee handbook

• Announce the law at regular meetings.

• Include information in the company’s newsletter.

• �Post flyers on bulletin boards and other locations frequented 
by employees.

• �Distribute payroll enclosures to publicize the new law.  
Include information on cessation resources such as the  
Georgia Tobacco Quit Line.

• �Focus on the health aspects and the benefits of going  
smokefree.

Remove ashtrays from tables, counters, breakrooms,  
hallways and restrooms to be in compliance with the law.

Place smoking receptacles outside of entrances and door-
ways. Consider establishing a 25-foot smokefree zone from 
entrances and doorways.

Plan how you will respond to complaints and violations as  
you do with other employee rules and guidelines.

For workplaces that serve customers:

• �Advise staff to take reasonable steps toward implementation 
but to avoid confrontations that may result in physical harm.

•�Designate and prepare specific outdoor smoking sites utilizing 
signage and provide safe containers for discarded cigarettes.
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