
GEORGIA SMOKEFREE AIR ACT of 2005

A Guide to the

Should signs be posted?
Signs should be posted where smoking is prohibited and a  
sign stating where smoking is allowed are to be prominently 
posted in plain view and properly maintained. You can go to 
dph.georgia.gov/tobacco-free-places to view and download 
signs.

Where can I report a violation?
You may report violations of the Act to the Georgia Department 
of Public Health, your County Board of Health, your local health 
department or your district health office.

What are the penalties?
A person smoking in violation of the law will be guilty of a  
misdemeanor and fined not less than $100 and not more  
than $500.

A business that allows smoking in violation of the law can  
be fined through the process of injunctive relief where the 
amount of the fine will be determined by the court.  
dph.georgia.gov/smoke-free-enforcement

Where can I get information on how to  
quit smoking?
The Georgia Tobacco Quit Line provides free counseling,  
support, nicotine replacement therapy and referral services  
for tobacco users. Quit Line services are available for  
Georgia residents ages 13 and older who want to quit.  
Visit dph.georgia.gov/ready-quit for more information about 
cessation resources.

How can I get more information on how to  
adopt tobacco-free policy?
In addition, the Georgia Department of Public Health has  
information on how a business/workplace can adopt and  
implement a tobacco-free policy: dph.georgia.gov/workplaces.
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How can I get more information about  
the Georgia Smokefree Air Act?

There are several ways to get more information  
about the Georgia Smokefree Air Act of 2005:

 

dph.georgia.gov/tobacco

1-877-343-3340 (toll-free)

404-657-3378 (metro Atlanta area)

chronic.disease@dph.ga.gov
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What is secondhand smoke?
Secondhand smoke is a mixture of the smoke exhaled from  
the lungs of smokers and the smoke from the burning end of  
a cigarette, pipe or cigar. Secondhand smoke is a class A 
carcinogen that can cause cancer in any part of the body. This 
mixture contains more than 4,000 chemicals and at least 60 
carcinogens that are known to cause cancer in humans or 
animals. 

Exposure to secondhand smoke can contribute to or cause 
severe health problems in both smokers and non-smokers, 
including cancer, respiratory diseases, emphysema, heart 
disease, sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and asthma. 
Children and pregnant women are especially vulnerable to 
the effects of secondhand smoke. The longer the exposure to 
secondhand smoke, the more harmful it can be to your health.

Where is smoking NOT allowed?
• �Smoking is prohibited in all enclosed facilities, including build-

ings owned, leased or operated by the State or local governing 
authorities.

• �Smoking is prohibited in all enclosed public places except as 
indicated in code section 31-12A-6.

• �Smoking is prohibited in all enclosed areas within places of  
employment unless authorized in code section 31-12A-6.  
Examples include:

What is the Georgia Smokefree Air Act of 2005?
In May 2005, Governor Sonny Perdue signed the Georgia 
Smokefree Air Act into law. Effective July 1, 2005, the new 
law prohibits smoking inside most public areas and out-
lines specific guidelines for allowing smoking in and around 
establishments that serve the public. However, the Act does 
allow for more restrictive local laws, rules and regulations that 
are currently in place or may be passed in the future. Cities, 
counties and business are encouraged to adopt and enforce a 
comprehensive smoke-free policy that protect the population 
from secondhand smoke exposure at all workplaces, public 
places, bars and restaurants at all times.

How is this law helpful to me?
This law is helpful because it reduces your exposure to 
secondhand smoke and its associated risks to your health. 
Tobacco use is the leading cause of preventable deaths and 
diseases in both users and non-users in Georgia and United 
States. Tobacco use increases social and economic burden to 
both individual and the society contributing significantly to 
healthcare cost. Tobacco use and secondhand smoke worsens 
all forms of chronic diseases such as hypertension, diabetes 
and asthma. Eliminating smoking in public places will reduce 
the number of tobacco-related illnesses and deaths, which 
number more than 11,000 deaths each year in Georgia. The law 
when enforced provides cleaner and safer environments for 
us to live, work and play thereby promoting and protecting the 
health of the population.

• �An owner, operator, manager or other person in control of an 
establishment, facility or outdoor area may declare an entire area 
as a non-smoking area.

• �The owner, operator, manager or other person in control of any 
area in which smoking is prohibited must remove all ashtrays.

• Smoking is prohibited wherever a no-smoking sign is posted.

- �Restaurants and bars, except 
as noted in exemptions 

- Common work areas 

- Medical facilities

- Auditoriums

- Cafeterias

- Classrooms

- Stairs

- Private offices

- Restrooms

- Elevators 

- Hallways 

- Employee lounges

- Conference rooms

- Meeting rooms

- All other enclosed facilities

Where is smoking allowed?
The following areas are exempt from the general rule that 
smoking is prohibited on the condition that a sign indicating 
that smoking is permitted must be posted conspicuously at 
every entrance and visible places:

• Bars and restaurants, as follows:

All bars and restaurants that deny access to any person under 
the age of 18 and that do not employ individuals under the age 
of 18; or

Private rooms in restaurants and bars if the rooms are 
enclosed and have an air handling system independent from 
the main air system that serves all other areas of the building 
and all air within the private room is exhausted directly to the 
outside by an exhaust fan of sufficient size.

• �Designated smoking rooms in hotel and motel rooms that are 
rented to guests. 

• Long-term care facilities as defined in the law.

• �Private and semiprivate rooms in health care facilities licensed  
under code section 31-8-81 that are occupied by one or more  
persons. Written authorization is required from the treating  
physician to smoke.

• Outdoor areas of places of employment.

• Designated smoking areas in international airports.

• �All workplaces of any manufacturer, importer or wholesaler of  
tobacco products, of any tobacco leaf dealer or processor of  
tobacco products, all tobacco storage facilities and other facilities 
listed in code section 10-13A-2.

• �Retail tobacco stores, provided that secondhand smoke does not 
infiltrate to areas where smoking is prohibited. 

• �Smoking areas designated by an employer. The designated smoking 
area must be for employees only, must be located in a non-work 
area and must have an independent air handling system. This 
exemption does not apply to restaurants and bars.

• �Convention facility meeting rooms and public and private assembly 
rooms within a convention facility that is not leased or operated 
by the state or local governing authority while used for private 
functions. Individuals under age 18 are prohibited from attending or 
working as an employee during the function.

• �Common work areas, conference rooms, meeting rooms and 
private offices in private places of employment, other than medical 
facilities, open to the general public by appointment only. However, 
smoking is still prohibited in any public reception area of such place 
of employment.

• �Private clubs, military officer clubs and noncommissioned officer 
clubs.

Private residences are exempt from the general rule that 
smoking is prohibited except when used as a licensed child 
care, adult daycare or healthcare facility.


