You are here

Birth Records

Birth Records

Birth records are available from 1919 to the present. Georgia law and the Department of Public Health regulation require that all requests for vital records include the signature and picture ID of the requestor and the proper fee.

Access to birth records is limited to:

  • the person named on the certificate
  • the parents shown on the birth record
  • an authorized legal guardian or agent
  • grandparents of the person named on the certificate
  • an adult child of the person named on the certificate
  • an adult sibling of the person named on the certificate
  • the spouse of the person named on the certificate

Required Information

The person requesting a certified copy of a birth record must provide:

1.  A completed and signed request form

2. A certified check or money order made payable to Vital Records Services

3.  A photocopy of your valid photo ID, such as

  • Driver's License
  • State Issued ID Card
  • Employee ID Card
  • Valid Passport

NOTE: If you are applying for children 18 and under, please include your ID as the parent, grandparent, or legal guardian.

Notice on Naming Your Baby

When it comes to naming your baby, the Vital Records Division of the Department of Public Health is committed to honoring the cultural practices of the parents' homeland.  For most people, the baby's last name will be the father's last name.  However, if your family comes from a land with an established tradition that calls for a different surname to be used, please be sure to explain this when you meet with the birthing clerk at the hospital.  We want to make sure that your baby's name will appear on the official birth certificate exactly as you wish.

If your baby's birth certificate has already been made out, and you would like to change the surname to fit the cultural traditions of your family homeland, please write the Division of Vital Records at 2600 Skyland Drive, Atlanta, GA 30319-3640 or call (404) 679-4702.  If the name is changed, we will be happy to provide you with a free copy of the amended certificate.

Fees

Georgia law requires pre-payment before a record or a service can be provided. Fees are not refundable after a service has been provided. Records are sent first class mail.

Search Fee (includes one certified copy, if the record is found on file)

$25.00

Additional certifications of same record ordered at the same time (full size copies only)

$ 5.00

Multi-year search (every three years or portion thereof)

$25.00

Special Filing Fees
(In addition to the $25.00 search fee, which must also be included.)

Delayed certificate of birth

$10.00

Amending birth certificates because of adoption, paternity acknowledgment, legitimation or court order

$10.00

No special filing fee is required during the first year of birth to amend a birth record. This includes all types of amendments.

Methods of Payment

Fees may be paid by one of the following methods:

Do NOT send cash in the mail. Make certified checks and money orders payable to Vital Records.

Where to Request a Birth Certificate

The following options are available for requesting a birth certificate:

State Vital Records Office

2600 Skyland Drive, NE

Atlanta, GA 30319

  • Write out the information on the request form on a sheet of paper and mail it to the State Vital Records Office.
  • Request a birth certificate in person at the state Vital Records Office or the County Vital Records Office where the birth occurred.
  •  Obtain a birth certificate online at ROVER (Request Official Vital Event Records).

Note: It is not possible to request a birth certificate via email. By law, vital record search requests must be signed and paid for.