Using the Georgia PDMP
When am I required by law to begin using the Georgia PDMP?
You can begin using the system as soon as your account is activated by Georgia PDMP. Beginning July 1, 2018, you will be required to check the PDMP before prescribing some Schedule II drugs or benzodiazepines
When is a prescriber required to check the Georgia PDMP?
A prescriber is required to check the PDMP before writing a prescription for the first time for:
- Opiate drugs or cocaine derivatives listed in Schedule II
Thereafter, if the prescription continues, the prescriber should check the PDMP at least every 90 days.
The prescriber is not required to check the PDMP in these four situations:
- If the prescription is for no more than a three-day supply and no more than 26 pills
- If the patient is in a health care facility, such as a hospital, nursing home, intermediate care home, personal care home or hospice, which provides patient care and prescriptions to be administered to the patient on the premises
- If the patient has had outpatient surgery at a hospital or ambulatory surgical center and the prescription is for no more than a 10-day supply and no more than 40 pills
- If the patient is receiving treatment for cancer
Are prescribers required to check the Georgia PDMP before writing prescriptions for ANY Schedule II drugs?
No. Prescribers are only required to check the PDMP before writing a prescription for a benzodiazipine or one of the opiate drugs listed in Schedule II. Other Schedule II drugs do not require checking the PDMP before prescribing.
Where can I find a complete list of drugs that require checking the Georgia PDMP?
A list of drugs that require checking PDMP can be found.
How do I run a report to view the prescription history of my patient?
Once you are logged in to the Georgia PDMP, click on RxSearch, and then click on Patient Request. You will be asked to provide as much information about the patient as you are able. Click search at the bottom of the screen and the system will display the patient report.
Will health care practitioners be able to find out what controlled substances might have been previously dispensed by out-of-state dispensers?
The Georgia Department of Public Health has entered into agreements with the states of Alabama, South Carolina, Massachusetts and North Dakota for the purpose of sharing and disseminating data and information in the Georgia PDMP.
Can I see prescriptions that have been dispensed under my DEA number?
Yes, log in to https://georgia.pmpaware.net/login. Click on RxSearch, then click on MyRx. It will give you parameters to search for prescriptions for Schedule II, III, IV, V drugs and benzodiazepines.
How can I review prescriptions written by my delegates?
Log in to https://georgia.pmpaware.net/login. From the home screen, click on RxSearch, then click on MyRx and enter your delegate’s DEA number.
What is a Prescriber Report and what does it include?
Prescribers are sent Quarterly Prescriber Reports. The Prescriber Report is intended to give prescribers insight into their opioid prescribing patterns. Reports are provided quarterly to all registered GA PDMP users with an active account and a defined role and specialty who have written at least one opioid prescription during the prior six-month period. The data represented includes Schedule II-V drugs as reported to the state PDMP, by the dispensers and pharmacies, during the report period listed.
Comparisons with peer groups are meant to give prescribers a point of reference. The PDMP recognizes that no two practice settings are identical. The report is only a tool for prescribers to review their prescribing patterns and is not used in any other way.
Can I update my specialty?
To update your specialty in the PDMP, please log-in to PDMP system at https://pmpclearinghouse.net/users/sign_in. Under the “Menu” tab, select “My Profile” and update your Specialty.
May I share information in the Georgia PDMP with a patient’s insurer?
Information may be shared with a patient’s insurer if the patient has authorized you to make the disclosure, or if the patient’s insurer needs that information in order to provide treatment, payment or health care.
If I believe that an investigation into a health care practitioner may be appropriate, where do I report my concern?
You should report your concerns to the licensing board with regulatory jurisdiction over that health care practitioner.
Are there required steps of action if I suspect a patient is doctor shopping?
You are not required to report a patient whom you suspect of doctor shopping. However, you may wish to discuss your concerns directly with the patient or explore alternatives to the drugs being prescribed.
If I find that a patient is receiving prescriptions for the same substance I am about to prescribe, am I bound legally or merely advised to withhold my prescription?
The PDMP is a tool for prescribers and the use of PDMP information is left to the prescriber’s clinical judgment and discretion.
Are pharmacies/pharmacists required to submit reports for days that the pharmacy is closed or there were no prescriptions filled for Schedule II, III, IV, V drugs?
Yes, you are required by law to file a “zero report” for the day.
Can I get a copy of my prescription report?
Yes, please complete the “Authorization for Release of Patient Information” form and email it to [email protected]. Once the form is completed and returned, we will provide a copy of your report.
How long are patient's prescription records maintained in the PDMP?
Originally, the law allowed the PDMP to store a maximum of two years of prescription records. However, as of July 1, 2019, the law changed to allow a five-year retention period. Please note, however, that because the original law (with its two-year retention period) remained in effect until July 1, 2019, the PDMP is not able to retrieve records prior to July 1, 2017. As a practical matter, this means that a full five-year record of prescriptions will not be available until July 1, 2022.