Maternal and Neonatal Center Designation Program

Perinatal Health  |  Regional Perinatal Centers  |  Georgia Perinatal Quality Collaborative  |  Georgia 5-STAR  |  Infant Mortality |  Maternal Mortality> |  Perinatal Resources> |  Maternal and Neonatal Center Designation Program |  O.C.G.A§ 31-2A-31 Annual Report (2018)

Maternal and Neonatal Center Designation Program

Levels of maternal and neonatal care provide guidelines that help ensure mothers and infants receive care in a facility that has the personnel and resources appropriate for their level of risk. The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) released its most recent guidelines for levels of neonatal care in 2012. In 2015, the American College of Gynecology and Obstetrics and the Society for Maternal-Fetal Medicine released an Obstetric Care Consensus (OCC) outlining guidelines for levels of maternal care.

All hospitals in Georgia offering labor and delivery services receive a certificate of need authorizing them to provide a level of perinatal care through the Georgia Department of Community Health. In 2019, Georgia will begin the Maternal and Neonatal Center Designation program to verify that hospitals meet the requirements for the level of care they have been authorized to provide through the Certificate of Need program using a set of requirements that are closely aligned with the AAP and OCC guidelines. 

The Maternal and Neonatal Center Designation program is voluntary. Hospitals that choose to participate in this voluntary program will complete a site survey with an organization approved by the Department of Public Health. We anticipate that site surveys will begin in the fall of 2019. We will continue to post more information as it becomes available. 

DPH Designated Maternal Center Self-Assessment Tool
DPH Designated Neonatal Center Self-Assessment Tool

Contact Information

Perinatal Health
Georgia Department of Public Health
2 Peachtree Street, NW
11th Floor
Atlanta, GA 30303



Page last updated 9/19/2019