January 31, 2024                                                               

Georgia Counties Share Car Seat Mini-Grant

Buckle Up Right, Every Trip, Every Time

ATLANTA  The Georgia Department of Public Health (DPH) Injury Prevention Program announces the 2023 recipients of the Child Passenger Safety Mini-Grant. The Child Passenger Safety Mini-Grant program helps county health departments, and their community partners reduce the number of injuries and deaths sustained by children in Georgia when riding in vehicles. This year’s award will be used to support the purchase of car seats to be distributed in 113 counties. Funding for these efforts is provided by the Governor’s Office of Highway Safety (GOHS).

Since 2007, the education, car seats, and booster seats provided through the Mini-Grant program have prevented serious injury to countless children and have saved the lives of more than 437 children who were involved in crashes.

“Motor vehicle crashes are a leading cause of death for children and it’s up to all of us to do everything we can to protect our children in vehicles,” said Kathleen E. Toomey, M.D., M.P.H., commissioner of the Georgia Department of Public Health. “Buckling up our children is the best way to save lives and prevent injuries.”

Throughout Georgia, DPH and county health departments work with community partners to educate parents and caregivers on how to properly install and use car seats, offer car seat inspections, and provide car seats and booster seats to financially eligible families. Through the Car Seat Mini-Grant, agencies supporting 113 counties are working to keep Georgia’s children safe. These programs help families get their children buckled up right, every trip, every time.

DPH takes pride in providing opportunities to enhance community outreach programs in Georgia. Through our collective efforts, we can make considerable strides in achieving our goals. For more information about the Child Occupant Safety Project, please email [email protected] or call the office at 404-463-1487.

2024 County Mini-Grant Awardees:

Appling, Atkinson, Bacon, Baker, Banks, Barrow, Ben Hill, Berrien, Bibb, Bleckley, Brantley, Brooks, Bryan, Bulloch, Calhoun, Camden, Carroll, Chatham, Chattahoochee, Cherokee, Clarke, Clay, Clayton, Clinch, Cobb, Coffee, Colquitt, Columbia, Cook, Crawford, Crisp, Dawson, DeKalb, Dodge, Dooly, Dougherty, Douglas, Early, Echols, Effingham, Elbert, Fayette, Gilmer, Glynn, Grady, Greene, Gwinnett, Habersham, Hall, Hancock, Haralson, Harris, Houston, Irwin, Jackson, Jasper, Jeff Davis, Johnson, Jones, Lamar, Lanier, Laurens, Lee, Liberty, Long, Lowndes, Macon, Madison, Marion, McIntosh, Meriwether, Miller, Mitchell, Montgomery, Morgan, Muscogee, Newton, Oconee, Oglethorpe, Paulding, Peach, Pike, Polk, Pulaski, Putnam, Quitman, Randolph, Richmond, Rockdale, Schley, Seminole, Spalding, Stewart, Sumter, Talbot, Taliaferro, Taylor, Telfair, Thomas, Tift, Toombs, Treutlen, Troup, Turner, Union, Upson, Ware, Washington, Webster, Wheeler, White, Whitfield, Worth