Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Emergency Medical Services (FAQs)

  • How long does it take to process my medic application?

    The application approval process takes 5 to 7 business days once a complete application has been received.

    Expand Collapse
  • What is considered a complete medic application?
    • Your application is considered complete once we have received the following items:
    • Completed application on the Georgia License Management System   (www.mygemsis.org/lms)
    • Copy (front and back) of current National Registration Card
    • Copy (front and back) of a current – signed CPR card any from the following: American Heart Association, American Red Cross, American College of Emergency Physicians, American Safety & Health Institute, Emergency Care & Safety Institute and ProCPR Healthcare Provider Blended Course and ProCPR Healthcare Provider Classroom Course
    • For ATP Applicants: Copy of current credentials
    • For Paramedic Applicants: Copy of current ACLS credentials
    • Must complete a Fingerprint Background Check prior to submitting your application. All applicants MUST use the Georgia Applicant Processing Service (GAPS) for the submission of your Fingerprint Background Check. The department does not accept criminal history reports from the applicant or other sources
    • Copy of verifiable document that was shown to the Notary Public for U.S. Residency (e.g. Driver's License or Passport)
    • A non-refundable license fee of $75.00 and/or $75.00 license re-instatement fee

    The fingerprint results are only good for 30 days from the date your fingerprints are completed. If the application is still incomplete after 30 days, the applicant will have to submit a new fingerprint-based criminal history records check. All applicable fees will apply. 

    Incomplete applications will expire within 90 days of receipt by the Office of EMS and Trauma. Once an application expires, the applicant will be required to submit a new application, a new application fee, and will have to submit a new  fingerprint criminal background check.

    Please be patient as we process your application. If you do not receive your license or status of your application within 7 business days, please call our office at 770-996-3133.

    Expand Collapse
  • Do you need to be NREMT certified for applying for a Georgia medic license?

    Yes, Georgia requires all applicants to have a valid NREMT registration in order to apply for a Georgia medic license.

    Expand Collapse
  • What if I am licensed in more than one state? Do you need verification from all the states I have ever held a license in or just the state where I hold my current license?

    Yes, we will need verification from all states where you have ever held a license. This is to ensure that there has not been any disciplinary actions or suspensions and that your current license is in good standing.

    Expand Collapse
  • If I have been convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor, will this stop me from obtaining a Georgia medic license?

    This type of information will be reviewed on an individual basis. For additional information, review Rules and Regulations Chapter 511-9-2-.12(8).

    Expand Collapse
  • How to go about transitioning my medic license to the State of Georgia?

    You are required to hold a current NREMT registration, you will need to go to www.mygemsis.org/lms to complete an initial license application and submit all the required documents and fee by mail. Please read the Application Instructions before completing the form.

    Expand Collapse
  • What are the fees to obtain a Georgia medic license?
    • Bi-annual renewal fee is $75.00
    • Reinstatement license fee is $75.00
    Expand Collapse
  • How can I check my application status?

    You can login to www.mygemsis.org/lms and click on Applications to check the status. You will receive an email when your license has been issued.

    Expand Collapse
  • How to print out an updated license copy?

    You can print an updated license copy by going to www.mygemsis.org/lms and clicking on Applications and then click Apply Now next to the Generate Medic License Card. If you do not see this link, a card has already been generated for you, so click on My Account and then Documents - the card will be in that list.

    Expand Collapse
  • How can I change my address, phone number or email address?

    You will need to login to www.mygemsis.org/lms and click on Applications, and then on the Update Demographics application (click Apply Now).

    Expand Collapse
  • How can I change my name, date of birth, social security number, gender or race?

    You will need to login to www.mygemsis.org/lms and click on Applications, and then on the Update Demographics application (click Apply Now). You will need to include all appropriate documentation that is asked for on the application.

    Expand Collapse
  • What happens if my medic license expires?

    Your license will lapse.

    If you are currently registered with NREMT, you can reinstate your license by Download this pdf file.g oing to www.mygemsis.org/lms, and click on Applications and then on Apply Now next to the Initial License application that is appropriate. 

    If you are NOT currently registered with NREMT you will need to contact NREMT for information to regain certification.

    Expand Collapse
  • How do I renew my medic license?

    You are required to renew your license online at www.mygemsis.org/lms - login, click on Applications, and then on Apply Now next to the Medic Renewal application.

    Late renewals require a late penalty of $75.00 ($150.00 total fee) and all other license requirements must have been met prior to the renewal date. While late renewals are allowed, the medic’s license will lapse and will remain lapsed until the license has been renewed through the late renewal process.

    Expand Collapse
  • How will I know when do I need to renew my medic license?

    It is your responsibility to make sure your license has been renewed in a timely manner.

    Expand Collapse
  • How can I renew my medic license if I no longer physically live in Georgia?

    You are required to renew your license online at www.mygemsis.org/lms - login, click on Applications, and then on Apply Now next to the Medic Renewal application.

    Late renewals require a late penalty of $75.00 ($150.00 total fee) and all other license requirements must have been met prior to the renewal date. While late renewals are allowed, the medic’s license will lapse and will remain lapsed until the license has been renewed through the late renewal process.

    Expand Collapse
  • How can I find out which EMT classes are being offered in my county?

    You can contact one of our Regional EMS Program Director from your county to find out which EMT classes are offered near you.

    Expand Collapse
  • Where can I obtain additional training resources/classes?

    Please visit the following two links. You may also contact our Regional EMS Program Director from your county to find out more about additional training resources/classes which are offered.

    Required EMS Trainings

    Upcoming EMS Trainings 

     

    Expand Collapse
  • What are the recertification requirements?

    In order to recertify, you have to complete total of forty hours of State approved EMS Continuing Education which includes:

    • 8 hours of Pediatric topics
    • 4 hours of cardiovascular topics (Stemi and Stroke)
    • 4 hours of Trauma topics
    • 24 hours of General EMS topics.

    While National Registry is not required to be renewed for recertification in Georgia you will need to complete total of forty hours of State approved EMS Continuing Education credits in order to maintain your license active.

    It is your responsibility to save all continuing education transcripts which you can provide the State should you be audited by the Georgia State of EMS and Trauma Office. Failure to provide the requested, required documentation will result in the suspension or revocation of your EMS license.

    Expand Collapse
  • How do I reinstate my lapsed medic license?

    You will need to have a valid NREMT registration and login to www.mygemsis.org/lms, click on Applications, and then on the initial license application, pay a fee of $75.00, complete a fingerprint background check and submit all other required documents. 

    Expand Collapse
  • How long is my course completion record valid to apply for initial EMT certification or recertification?

    As per NREMT your course completion record is valid for 2 years.

    Expand Collapse
  • What is the process for ATP holder to apply for paramedic certification?

    ATP holders will need to go to www.mygemsis.org/lms, login, click on Applications, then on the Initial Paramedic License application, and submit the required documents. Please read the Application Instructions before completing the form.

    Expand Collapse