Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Emergency Medical Services (FAQs)


How long does it take to process my application?
Answer: The application approval process takes 5 to 7 business days once a complete application has been received.

Back to top of page


What is considered a complete application?
Answer: Your application is considered complete once we have received the following items:

  • Complete application form EMS State License Application
  • Copy (front and back) of current National Registration Card
  • Copy (front and back) of a current – signed CPR card any from the following: American Heart Association, American Red Cross, American College of Emergency Physicians, American Safety & Health Institute, and Emergency Care & Safety Institute
  • For ATP Applicants: Copy of current credentials
  • For Paramedic Applicants: Copy of current ACLS credentials
  • Must complete a Fingerprint Background Check prior to submitting your application. All applicants MUST use the Georgia Applicant Processing Service (GAPS) for the submission of your Fingerprint Background Check. The department does not accept criminal history reports from the applicant or other sources
  • Copy of verifiable document that was shown to the Notary Public for U.S. Residency (e.g. Driver's License or Passport)
  • A non-refundable license fee of $75.00 and/or $75.00 license re-instatement fee

Please be patient as we process your application. If you do not receive your license or status of your application within 7 business days, please call our office at 404-679-0547.

Back to top of page


Do you need to be NREMT certified for applying a Georgia license?
Answer: Yes, Georgia requires all applicants to have a valid NREMT registration in order to apply for a Georgia Medic license.

Back to top of page


What if I am licensed in more than one state? Do you need verification from all the states I have ever held a license in or just the state where I hold my current license?
Answer: Yes, we will need verification from all states where you have ever held a license. This is to ensure that there has not been any disciplinary actions or suspensions and that your current license is in good standing.

Back to top of page


If I have been convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor, will this stop me from obtaining a Georgia EMS license?
Answer: This type of information will be reviewed on an individual basis. For additional information, review Rules 511-9-2-.12(8). Rules and Regulations can be found by clicking the following link Rules and Regulations Chapter 511-9-2-.12.

Back to top of page


How to go about transitioning my medic license to the State of Georgia?
Answer: You are required to hold a current NREMT registration, fill out the EMS State License Application and submit all the required documents and fee by mail. Please read the Application Instructions before completing the form.

Back to top of page


What are the fees to obtain a Georgia medic license?
Answer:

  • Bi-annual renewal fee is $75.00
  • Reinstatement license fee is $75.00

Back to top of page


Check application status?
Answer: You can check your application status on our website after 5 to 10 business days by clicking the following link Personnel License Verification.

Back to top of page


How to print out an updated license copy?
Answer: You can print an updated license copy by clicking the following link Updade Medic Profile.

Back to top of page


How can I change my address, phone number or email address?
Answer: You can update your medic profile by clicking the following link Update Medic Profile.

Back to top of page


How can I change my name, date of birth, social security number, gender or race?
Answer: By completing the Personnel Information Change Form and submitting the form to our office either by mail or fax. This process generally take approximately 5 to 7 business days.

Back to top of page


What happens if my license expires?
Answer: Your license will lapse.

If you are currently registered with NREMT, you can reinstate your license by filling out the EMS State License Application and paying a fee of $75.00.

If you are NOT currently registered with NREMT you will need to contact NREMT for information to regain certification.

Back to top of page


How do I renew my license?
Answer: You may renew your license online at Renew EMS License or manually by completing a renewal application Individual License Renewal Application.

Late renewals require a late penalty of $75.00 ($150.00 total fee) and all other license requirements must have been met prior to the renewal date. While late renewals are allowed, the medic’s license will lapse and will remain lapsed until the license has been renewed through the late renewal process.

Back to top of page


How will I know when I need to renew?
Answer: It is your responsibility to make sure your license has been renewed in a timely manner.

Back to top of page


How can I renew my Georgia medic license if I know longer physically live in Georgia?
Answer: You may renew your Georgia Medic License if you are Out-of-State by filling out the EMS State License Application and submit all the required documents and fee by mail. Please read the Application Instructions before completing the form.

Back to top of page


How can I find out which EMT classes are being offered in my county?
Answer: You can contact our Regional EMS Program Director to find out which EMT classes are offered in your county. A directory can be found at Regional EMS Offices.

Back to top of page


Where can I obtain additional training resources/classes?
Answer: Continuing Education

              EMS Classroom

You may also contact our Regional EMS Program Director to find out more about additional training resources/classes which are offered in your county. A directory can be found at Regional EMS Offices.

Back to top of page


What are the recertification requirements?
Answer: In order to recertify, you have to complete total of forty hours of State approved EMS Continuing Education which includes:

  • 8 hours of Pediatric topics
  • 4 hours of cardiovascular topics (Stemi and Stroke)
  • 4 hours of Trauma topics
  • 24 hours of General EMS topics.

While National Registry is not required to be renewed for recertification in Georgia you will need to complete total of forty hours of State approved EMS Continuing Education credits in order to maintain your license active.

It is your responsibility to save all Continuing Education credits in case of Audit is conducted. 

Back to top of page


How do I reinstate my lapsed license?
Answer: You will need to have a valid NREMT registration and complete the Individual License Renewal Application and pay a late penalty fee of $75.00 + reinstatement fee of $75.00 ($150.00 total fee) and all other license requirements must have been met prior to renewal

Or successfully complete an initial education program (EMT, AEMT or Paramedic), obtain a NREMT certification and complete the EMS State License Application.

Back to top of page


How long is my course completion record valid to apply for initial EMT certification or recertification?
Answer: As per NREMT your course completion record is valid for 2 years.

Back to top of page


Are the trainings found on the EMS Classroom counted as any CE credits?
Answer: Yes, all classes found on the EMS Classroom are counted as CE credits.

Back to top of page


What is the process for ATP holder to apply for paramedic certification?
Answer: ATP holders will have to fill out the EMS State License Application and submit the required documents. Please read the Application Instructions before completing the form.

Back to top of page

 

 

 

 

 


Page last updated 4/3/2017